1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

UHF and VHF on same cable?

Discussion in 'Satellite TV, Sky TV & FreeSat' started by tmurphy, Sep 6, 2003.

  1. tmurphy

    tmurphy
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2003
    Messages:
    548
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Preston
    Ratings:
    +47
    Due to move into new house at the end of September, but my wife would like as little number of cables fixed to the oustide of the house as Possible.

    I think I have seen boxes that combine the two inputs from the aerials together down a single piece of coax then a similar box at the Lounge end to split the two signals apart again and provide connections for the respective UHF and VHF cables.

    Will this degarade the quality of the signal? I live in line of sight of Winter Hill transmitter and have VERY good reception, especially with the size of UHF and FM aerials i have (HUGE!!!)

    Or can sombody help my argument that individual cables would be bettter!

    TIA

    Tony Murphy
     
  2. Chris Muriel

    Chris Muriel
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2002
    Messages:
    7,096
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Manchester
    Ratings:
    +711
    If you have strong signals then you could indeed use a diplexer to route the UHF (TV) and Band-2/VHF (FM radio) signals down 1 cable.
    The frequencies are a long way apart (VHF, 88-108 MHz and UHF, 700 MHz +) so you should be fine.

    Chris Muriel, Manchester.
     
  3. Dave777

    Dave777
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2002
    Messages:
    479
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Gatwick
    Ratings:
    +8
    Get a "loftbox" from www.cpc.co.uk or www.letsautomate.co.uk and you can do UHF+VHF+SAT and more on one downlead. Then add one up lead and you can send all of them round the house from the loft!

    Just bought one.

    Cheers

    Dave
     
  4. Mr.D

    Mr.D
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2000
    Messages:
    11,041
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +1,113
    I use one feed for both UHF and RF . No problems FM is a little noisy (I'm being picky )occasionally but I doubt its the dual use of the cable ( switching to mono loses the noise)
     
  5. tmurphy

    tmurphy
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2003
    Messages:
    548
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Preston
    Ratings:
    +47
  6. w3dal

    w3dal
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2002
    Messages:
    4,807
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Chelmsford, Essex
    Ratings:
    +511
    Hi tmurphy,

    Thats exactly what i have in my new flat. And it works brilliantly. I use all three connections - Sky/TV/Radio and have found no loss in quality in any of those formats.

    I was very surprised when i took the plate apart and found that i get all these sources from a single cable to the flat.

    Maybe ones of the loftboxes Dave777 was on about would help you out.

    Cheers

    Dal
     

Share This Page

Loading...