UHD HDR Movie Release Delays

Ruby

I noticed that, although A Quiet Place 2 premiered on Sky on Friday, the UHD HDR version only became available today. I'm quite new to Sky Q and wanted to know if this is Sky's normal practice. It's annoying because I just watched the movie yesterday in HD thinking Sky weren't going to show it in UHD HDR. I remember Sky used to do this kind of thing with their 3D movies.

MarkNorton1

I always wait a few days with new releases like this, happened with The Suicide squad as well, not just sky though, happens with Amazon prime movies as well.

teeveedee

I noticed that, although A Quiet Place 2 premiered on Sky on Friday, the UHD HDR version only became available today. I'm quite new to Sky Q and wanted to know if this is Sky's normal practice. It's annoying because I just watched the movie yesterday in HD thinking Sky weren't going to show it in UHD HDR. I remember Sky used to do this kind of thing with their 3D movies.
Yes, very common with Sky Cinema. They can often suddenly remove the HDR version for no logical reason too.
I just cancelled my Cinema subscription as I worked out that I'd only watched two things in the past year and a half! I get much better value and quality from other streaming services.

Ruby

It's almost been a week since Nobody premiered on Sky and the UHD version still hasn't shown up. Does it usually take this long?

teeveedee

It's almost been a week since Nobody premiered on Sky and the UHD version still hasn't shown up. Does it usually take this long?
Sometimes. They're hopeless. They really are. Can't believe they've only just got that film. I think I saw it on a 4K HDR stream with Atmos from the USA in April last year!

cuke2u

We watched it last week in UHD on Sky and it's still available in that format...

TheViper101

Still the same here when I checked today. Monster Hunter premiered today and that is already available in UHD. I wish Sky would be consistent!