UHD 10m HDMI - JVC Projector

Discussion in 'Projectors, Screens & Video Processors' started by stevos, Jun 10, 2019.

  1. stevos

    stevos
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2004
    Messages:
    6,213
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +593
    Hi,

    Does anyone have a recommendation of a longer HDMI cable that works with a JVC projector.

    It seems my existing 10m cable works fine with my LG OLED but not my projector, so i assume the JVC HDMI board is less sensitive.

    Ideally looking for one in white.
     
  2. Superhans

    Superhans
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2007
    Messages:
    50
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Location:
    Manchester
    Ratings:
    +24
    When I installed my X7000 I put 2nr 18GB cables in a closed up false ceiling. Worked fine with 1080p but absolutely failed at 4K. Cables about 7.5m.

    Only thing that consistently worked is a 10m Ruipro. Not cheap though and I don’t know about white.
     
  3. stevos

    stevos
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2004
    Messages:
    6,213
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +593
    Brought another cheap cable that is meant to be rated to work. If that fails, I will try a redmere cable and failing that explore ruipro
     
  4. TimC

    TimC
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2017
    Messages:
    112
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    32
    Location:
    Hitchin
    Ratings:
    +45
    I went for a monoprice optical hybrid cable (like the ruipro) from Amazon in UK. Was a bit cheaper and works perfectly at full uhd hdr 60hz 12 bit across 15m.
    I think these are the only options really guaranteed to work so would personally avoid wasting money on alternatives that may not.
     
  5. jakimp

    jakimp
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2009
    Messages:
    1,458
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Location:
    bromsgrove
    Ratings:
    +1,220
    10m ruipro works perfectly with my N5 on all 4k HDR sources

    think fibre optic is the only reliable answer but
    £100+
     
  6. Amar

    Amar
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2005
    Messages:
    1,155
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Ratings:
    +106
    I just got an Amazon basics HDMI. 15m. Working fine so far.
     
  7. jakimp

    jakimp
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2009
    Messages:
    1,458
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Location:
    bromsgrove
    Ratings:
    +1,220
    are you using a 4K disc player? if so you have done well with that cable and saved a lot
     
  8. Amar

    Amar
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2005
    Messages:
    1,155
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Ratings:
    +106
    Using the nvidia shield tv. Seems ok so far. Hopefully, it lasts.
     
  9. jakimp

    jakimp
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2009
    Messages:
    1,458
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Location:
    bromsgrove
    Ratings:
    +1,220
    great - I had doubts that my oppo 203 playing a UHD disk would work over 10m to a JVC N5 without going the fibre route so I bought a ruipro
     
  10. Thatsnotmynaim

    Thatsnotmynaim
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2004
    Messages:
    4,314
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    137
    Location:
    Middle Earth
    Ratings:
    +858
    Most non fibre cable will struggle if you push the PJ to it's max, i.e. 18gbps / 4k @ 50/60hz with HDR etc. I've tried so many longer 10-15m copper cables including a number of active redmere and non I tried would consistently do it properly with the JVC. I've even tried 2 x 5m with an hdmi splitter in the middle to boost, but had limited results.

    It may be a hard pill to swallow, but you're really best not scrimping, especially if the cable is awkward to change later. There are a number of good quality fibre cables available today as it is no longer a niche requirement, just buy from a reputable seller with good returns policy, I'm a Prime member so hence was happy to buy a few and try them etc.

    Problem is with non-fibre cables of say 10m you may believe the manufacturers claims and think you've gotten away with it, but there's a reason why tested hdmi certified premium cables aren't available over 5m, they simply can't pass the bandwidth test.

    If a non-fibre cable works for you it may just be you don't watch content that actually requires 18gbps 'YET'. Content like [email protected] 4:2:0 8bit without HDR or [email protected] 4:2:2 10/12 bit with HDR only require 9gbps for example.

    A full table can be found at the bottom of this article: HDMI Data Rates for 4K HDR

    If your device or content however is outputting 4k @ 50/60hz AND HDR you will need 18gbps and most non-fibre cables will struggle. Often 4K Film and TV content these days is only 24hz so you may be blissfully unaware, but something like After Life I think should be 4k @ 50hz with HDR and should test things as does 4k gaming consoles and nVidia Shield if set to output at 50/60hz.
     
  11. Thatsnotmynaim

    Thatsnotmynaim
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2004
    Messages:
    4,314
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    137
    Location:
    Middle Earth
    Ratings:
    +858
    Sounds promising! :smashin: Do you know if you're using HDR & 50/60hz? What's the JVC info screen say.

    20190611_103137492_iOS (2).jpg
     
  12. Amar

    Amar
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2005
    Messages:
    1,155
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Ratings:
    +106
    Pretty sure mine says the same but will double check tonight and post my findings for you.
     
  13. Sunshinewelly

    Sunshinewelly
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2005
    Messages:
    5,113
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +483
    fiber cables at amazon are now also reasonable priced ie under £45
     
  14. stevos

    stevos
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2004
    Messages:
    6,213
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +593
    The part I don't get is why it works fine on my TV. Wondering if a cheap hdmi signal booster might work, but I'd there is a 4k fibre cable for £45 I will for sure go that way if the new cable doesn't work.
     
  15. Thatsnotmynaim

    Thatsnotmynaim
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2004
    Messages:
    4,314
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    137
    Location:
    Middle Earth
    Ratings:
    +858
    JVC is a bit picky for perfect signal, had a DLP 4k temp whilst waiting for JVC to arrive and that was 100% fine. Think the signal was not good, I.e. it would not pass an 18gb certified test, but it was good enough to get away with it. I did use it temporarily with SkyQ and the JVC whilst waiting for fibre to arrive (nVidia wiyld not work at all), but then when a mate came to see it he asked me what the sparkly white things were! New fibre cable same, nVidia worked fine and SkyQ sparkles also gone.
     
  16. Thatsnotmynaim

    Thatsnotmynaim
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2004
    Messages:
    4,314
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    137
    Location:
    Middle Earth
    Ratings:
    +858
    Think you may also find it hard to find a ‘cheap’ 4k 18gb signal booster, I tried 2 or 3, including a linker before I discovered fibre hdmi. Fibre hdmi is the right way to go. You wouldn’t buy a brand new Ferrari and stick cheap tyres on it as the guys selling the cheap tyres told you they’d do the job fine?!?
     
  17. stevos

    stevos
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2004
    Messages:
    6,213
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +593
  18. Thatsnotmynaim

    Thatsnotmynaim
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2004
    Messages:
    4,314
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    137
    Location:
    Middle Earth
    Ratings:
    +858
    I had that exact same cable and didn’t work for me at 10m. What resolution, bit rate and hdr settings are you using? Have you tested a 4k @50/60hz hdr source?
     
  19. stevos

    stevos
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2004
    Messages:
    6,213
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +593
    Xbox One X using its menu and then a UHD BD of Martian.

    So far works fine, but only had time to test for about 5mins, will report back if continues to work.

    I have the following cable sat on my amazon wish list, just in case

    https://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B07M6N5DV4/?coliid=I2KOM999NGFRLC&colid=GED7DFM6C47K&psc=1
     
  20. stevos

    stevos
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2004
    Messages:
    6,213
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +593
    p.s. also now tried skyq HD, which is outputing 4k50 at 10bit.
     
  21. Thatsnotmynaim

    Thatsnotmynaim
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2004
    Messages:
    4,314
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    137
    Location:
    Middle Earth
    Ratings:
    +858
  22. stevos

    stevos
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2004
    Messages:
    6,213
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +593
    I haven't got time this week to watch anything of length but plan to watch a movie over the weekend, will be interesting to see if it can keep a signal for the full duration.
     
  23. Thatsnotmynaim

    Thatsnotmynaim
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2004
    Messages:
    4,314
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    137
    Location:
    Middle Earth
    Ratings:
    +858
    Fingers crossed for you :thumbsup:
     
  24. Amar

    Amar
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2005
    Messages:
    1,155
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Ratings:
    +106
    My results on a X5000 using an Amazon basics cable. Hope it helps.
     

    Attached Files:

  25. stevos

    stevos
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2004
    Messages:
    6,213
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +593
    The white cable i linked above works perfectly, zero issues so far.
     
  26. Toobad

    Toobad
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2007
    Messages:
    77
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Hereford
    Ratings:
    +46
    That white 10m CSL cable from Amazon struggled linking my Denon X4400 AV receiver to my Optima UZ65 laser projector. It would pass [email protected]+HDR after struggling to find the source. Then consistently it would drop the source about 55 minutes into any 4K UHD Bluray film. It would then hunt and resume in 1080p for around 4 minutes before dropping out again and then finding the 2160p signal. Perhaps there is extra data associated with a layer change on the UHD BD that makes it bail so consistently. If I put the Denon into enhanced mode to pass [email protected]+HDR from my Xbox One X, the projector will not resolve the signal.

    The price for that 15m Shuliancable fibre optic hybrid cable kindly linked above by @Thatsnotmynaim is sufficiently cheap at £31.99 (or maybe less as I went through Topcashback) to be worth a tickle so I have now pulled the trigger on that. Watch this space.
     
  27. Thatsnotmynaim

    Thatsnotmynaim
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2004
    Messages:
    4,314
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    137
    Location:
    Middle Earth
    Ratings:
    +858
    I think an element of the success is due to all bits of kit in the chain, so source, amp (if you have one) and display etc.. I had an amp in the chain (Arcam and also tried Denon & NAD) and had issues. It’s possible that different setups have less/different issues. A non fibre will struggle to transmit 18gb cleanly hence why they do not get certified. A particular setup may be able to get away with that however, but I think a fibre or other active setup is the most reliable in terms of results and technical ability to transmit 18gb. At the lower price they appear to come at now, it’s not that much an investment any more. Be aware that with some setups especially with amps with multi monitor out, when used with a TV and a PJ you can get off HDCP handshaking issues, when using the non fibre display. Denon/Marantz amps can turn on/off each HDMI out, but other amps can struggle.
     
  28. stevos

    stevos
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2004
    Messages:
    6,213
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +593
    HDMI is such a naff technology, they focused too much on copy protection and not enough on future proofing. Why on earth is there a different data feed for hdcp and the video, why is it not just transferred in packets like network cables have been doing for decades.

    For sure i would recommend just going for the fibre option, as they aren't that much more expensive and should be more reliable and thinner but for me being white was key as i don't have it channeled in the wall.
     
  29. Toobad

    Toobad
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2007
    Messages:
    77
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Hereford
    Ratings:
    +46
  30. LotusElan

    LotusElan
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2002
    Messages:
    3,760
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +386
    We bought a 15m version of this fibre optic cable as we were having random black flashes on the TV (diametrically opposite to the amp in the room hence the need for a very long cable). Came very quickly and seems at the very least adequately constructed. And currently there's even a further 5% off voucher to save another couple of quid.

    Was a little bit sceptical in case it was going to be yet another "emperor's new clothes" purchase but it's been flawless for the 6 months it has been installed. :)
     
    Last edited: Jun 17, 2019

Share This Page

Loading...