1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Two Towers Encoding Problem?

Discussion in 'Movie Forum' started by russraff, Aug 15, 2003.

  1. russraff

    russraff
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2000
    Messages:
    2,311
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Newcastle
    Ratings:
    +50
    I have just watched The Two Towers (region 1) and though the film is great (not as good as the first, though) I experienced some strange "encoding problems" during the battle of Helms Deep. There would appear to be red flashes, or glints, throughout the battle. A bit like the afterglow some old Dr Who episodes used to have when something bright moved across screen. Now, it may be particular to the equipment that I am using, but these glints don't seem to appear during slow motion. This is why I think it might be a problem with the disc

    Can anyone shed some light on this, or is it just me and this is actually supposed to be there?

    Pioneer 656 on a Toshiba Rear Projection TV

    Russell
     
  2. Zone

    Zone
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2001
    Messages:
    6,526
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Barnsley
    Ratings:
    +2,114
  3. Riker

    Riker
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi,

    I noticed this too. I am using a Sony DVP S725D. Like you say there is some Red "Ghosting" in the Helms Deep battle and also at the beginning when the 2 hobbits are escaping the urukai (Excuse spelling) just before they enter fangorn forest

    Anyone else notice this?

    Cheers
    :)
     
  4. johna

    johna
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2000
    Messages:
    856
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Bromley, Kent
    Ratings:
    +3
    me too - i thought it was a dodgy disc but obviously not. Maybe it wont be there on the extended edition, but it is very noticable

    i was using a tosh sd900e
     
  5. Rochdale

    Rochdale
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2002
    Messages:
    359
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Leeds, UK
    Ratings:
    +1
    Didn't notice anything when I watched it, I'll have another look.
     
  6. russraff

    russraff
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2000
    Messages:
    2,311
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Newcastle
    Ratings:
    +50
    This is a shame as it detracts from the enjoyment of the film. Does anyone have the R2 onwards version, and does this version display the same problems?

    Russell
     
  7. Mr.D

    Mr.D
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2000
    Messages:
    11,040
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +1,111
    I didn't notice any problems on the region1.
     
  8. CarlB

    CarlB
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2001
    Messages:
    1,096
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Godmanchester, Cambs
    Ratings:
    +83
    I also noticed no problems on the R1 disc. I have just rewatched the scenes in question and could see no red 'flashes' at all, at either normal speed or in slow motion.

    I would also suggest that it is unlikely to be a problem with the encoding if they are not visible in slow motion. The problem is either on the disc or it is not, and playback speed would then not be a factor.
     
  9. steve1056

    steve1056
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2002
    Messages:
    374
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Reading
    Ratings:
    +5
    I just watched the scenes in question a couple of more times today and there is absolutely nothing wrong with the picture on my R1 version. FYI, I have a Sony 725 DVD player like Riker.

    Cheers,

    Steve
     
  10. johna

    johna
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2000
    Messages:
    856
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Bromley, Kent
    Ratings:
    +3
    I just checked another R1 disc on my player and it was fine - must a batch of dodgy discs.

    I'll just give my dodgy one to my bro' and keep the decent one.
     
  11. one_jedi

    one_jedi
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Could it be something to do with a combination of the dvd, the dvd player and the television. For instance whe I play Way of the Gun region 1 on my dvd player on my TV the geometry at the top of the screen is really really bad, all my other region 1 dvd's are fine. But when played on my dvd player or another dvd player on another TV this problems isn't there! The DVD just doesn't seem to like my Television. Also this is only when it is played in NTSC if I put my player to Pal (Pal 60 as my plaer has) then this problem dissapears! Don't ask me why this happens but it does!

    Has anyone tried to see if this problem is there on NTSC and Pal 60, shouldn't make a difference but you never know!!

    Also have people tried the DVD on tottaly different set ups or with thier dvd player but using a different TV?

    Fianally what type of connections are you using? Component, RGB scart or S-video, can't see why this would make a difference but you never know.

    Like somone said I would have thought that it would have been there on slow motion as well as normal speed if it was the DVD which maybe means that when played at speed theTv's just don't like it?
     
  12. one_jedi

    one_jedi
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    no comment on any of this, anyone else who now have copies notice this?
     
  13. eel

    eel
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    And hear was me just expecting a mess of pixelation on the r2 version!
     
  14. russraff

    russraff
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2000
    Messages:
    2,311
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Newcastle
    Ratings:
    +50
    I am using a Pioneer 656a with a Toshiba Rear pro TV. This is looped through my amp, which is high def compatible, so I shouldn't think it's that. All connections are Component. I have tried my disc on a pioneer 525 rgb to a JVC TV and the problem persists.

    I am leaning towards thinking that this is a few bad discs, rather than peoples equipment, but I still don't understand why it doesn't appear in slo-mo.

    I haven't tried PAL 60, I will give it a shot tonight.

    Russell
     
  15. LV426

    LV426
    Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2000
    Messages:
    12,752
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Somewhere in South Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +4,906
    Only watched the R1 item once - didn't notice any such artefacts. That's not to say they aren't there - I just didn't notice so I'm not sure. Post some precise chapter/time references and maybe I'll take another look.
     
  16. othello

    othello
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2001
    Messages:
    147
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    england
    Ratings:
    +0
    i noticed a glint in the battle of helms deep.it was like light shining off armour..only lasted about 20seconds at most..that was my only complaint and that is very minor..either it is a problem with the disc or a part where the transfer is not at it`s best..
     
  17. Gatto

    Gatto
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Its the same on mine but its more than 20 seconds, it within all the battle, will you be asking for any replacements??

    The equipment is the following :
    A NAD t531, connected through an RGB cable to a Philips 32PW8717. No probs at all with other films, just this one
     
  18. othello

    othello
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2001
    Messages:
    147
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    england
    Ratings:
    +0
    nope it don`t bother me that much m8...i`ll be getting the extended version anyway..as long as that is up to stratch then i`m happy.
     
  19. russraff

    russraff
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2000
    Messages:
    2,311
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Newcastle
    Ratings:
    +50
    Yep, that's what I'm doing. The 2 disc version isn't even mine, so I will leave it to them to decide whether to exchange it. In fact they didn't notice the red bits, so they're happy and will probably remain so unless I point out the defect (which I won't)!

    Russell
     
  20. Steve T

    Steve T
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2000
    Messages:
    438
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Redditch
    Ratings:
    +3
    I can't say that I saw it during Helms Deep but think I may have seen it in the early battle where Eomer and the Riders of Rohan attack the Uruk Hai and Merry & Pippin escape. It's the first time you see Pippin nearly get run over by the horse.

    I'll have another check later. The kit is a Pioneer 545 DVD player, Ixos RGB scart to a Toshiba PF2 36" TV.
     
  21. Gatto

    Gatto
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    It seems that you have to play all the film from the begining to encounter this problem, if you go straight from the menu to select a scene it will be displayed correctly!
     
  22. Mr.D

    Mr.D
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2000
    Messages:
    11,040
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +1,111
    I watched it again last night...no problems.
    However it does stick on the openign New line credit ( the dvd one not the actual title card version on film).I have to use the chapter select to start the film. I'm using theatertek on an HTPC . No problems with artifacts on the picture though. Strangely FOTR has similar issues.

    Also found my HTPC was missing half its RAM! reseated the wafer and ping its back again. The joys of home cinema!
     
  23. Droogie 2001

    Droogie 2001
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2001
    Messages:
    1,390
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Surrey
    Ratings:
    +69
    Just thought I would add my observation of red flashes on the Helms Deep battle.
    Didn't see it at Fangorn Forest bit though.
    I have a Pioneer 717 and was outputting RGB .

    The disk was rented from my local video shop as I am waiting for the extended edition.
    Do we have EIV to blame again for this?!:(
     
  24. Rob Pyatt

    Rob Pyatt
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I didn't notice this on my R1 copy.

    That is on a Pioneer 626D connected via S-Video to Panasonic PTAE100E projewctor.

    I had drunk most of a bottle of wine by then tho!
     
  25. Darth_Fisto

    Darth_Fisto
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2003
    Messages:
    209
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Scotland
    Ratings:
    +16
    I have the R2 release and there is NO red flashes or imperfections of any kind. Great transfer to my eyes (and ears :D ).
     
  26. MonkeyDonkey

    MonkeyDonkey
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2002
    Messages:
    401
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +1
    I rented the r2 from blockbuster today and the red flashes were visible. There also seemed to be something wrong with the colour (or the lack of it to be precise) on certain shots. Although this is possibly my setup or maybe even my mind playing tricks.
     
  27. Jase

    Jase
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2001
    Messages:
    9,319
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    South Coast
    Ratings:
    +829
    Got the R1 Canadian release and and not seen these problems on my Toshiba SD900 using the progressive output.
     
  28. puddleduck

    puddleduck
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2003
    Messages:
    1,814
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Lake District, near as dammit
    Ratings:
    +50
    Watched this last night (R2) and didn't notice this. Was projecting an 8 foot image, so if it was there, I'd seen it :)

    Anybody got a time stamp for this so I can double check?
     
  29. CMcK

    CMcK
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2003
    Messages:
    389
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Scotland
    Ratings:
    +24
    Finally got round to watching LOTR:TT last night and I also have the red flashes problem. I noticed the problem during the scene when the Riders Of Rohan attack the Orcs at night.
    I could even make out blocks of various shades of red where it should be black.
    I have a Pioneer 717, QED Squart (RGB only) and a Loewe Aconda.
    I am going to return the disc today, has anyone else tried returning the DVD and had any success with a new copy.
     

Share This Page

Loading...