Two subs?

Discussion in 'Subwoofers' started by parkem50, Aug 23, 2004.

  1. parkem50

    parkem50
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2004
    Messages:
    34
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Norfolk
    Ratings:
    +1
    Sorry if this thread has been done before, but how do you drive two powered subs if you're amp only has one sub output?
    Upgrade me thinks!!
     
  2. Ian J

    Ian J
    Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2001
    Messages:
    25,628
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +4,905
    use a Y connector that splits one output from the amp into two leads
     
  3. parkem50

    parkem50
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2004
    Messages:
    34
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Norfolk
    Ratings:
    +1
    Thankyou!
     
  4. eviljohn2

    eviljohn2
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2002
    Messages:
    7,545
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Near London.
    Ratings:
    +208
    Or you could upgrade to a model that has 2 sub outs (usually very expensive) or use the low-level interconnect from one the main left pre-out to underpin your main speakers rather than deal with the LFE signal. Depends what sounds best to you :)
     
  5. Ed Selley

    Ed Selley
    AVF Reviewer

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2003
    Messages:
    11,195
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +3,667
    Alternatively, many subs have an in and an out for just this reason. My sub out used to travel from amp to sub number 1 and from there to sub number 2.
     
  6. parkem50

    parkem50
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2004
    Messages:
    34
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Norfolk
    Ratings:
    +1
    all good advice! Thankyou!
     
  7. Stellavision

    Stellavision
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2003
    Messages:
    2,398
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Southsea, UK
    Ratings:
    +102
    Just be aware that two subs can be a real pain to set up.
    One better sub is often a better option, although some people have had good results from a dual sub setup.
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice