• New Patreon Tier and Early Access Content available. If you would like to support AVForums, we now have a new Patreon Tier which gives you access to selected news, reviews and articles before they are available to the public. Read more.

Two MCE PCs... one as an extender?

GingerTez

Hi,

I have a good spec Media Center PC in my sitting room at the moment and I'm thinking of buying my son a reasonable spec Media Center PC which will go in his bedroom.

I have 3 questions:
(1) Will the second PC be easily configured to act as an extender rather than a main MCE PC itself?
(2) Will the bandwidth of an 802.11b wireless network be good enough to enable my son to watch decent quality TV sent from the main box? (If not I'd probably upgrade to 802.11g... but would that be good enough?)
(3) The spec for the secnd PC is P4 3GHz, 512MB Ram, 80GB HDD. The PC won't be recording it's own programs just acting as an extender - is this a good enough spec?

Apologies for sounding like a complete newbie... but I am one when it comes to extending my MCE network!

Cheers,
Tez.

nigelbb

Distinguished Member
An MCE system cannot be used as an Extender. You can access content like music videos & recorded TV but you cannot e.g. access Live TV. Why not buy your lad an Xbox 360? That works beautifully as an Extender & I am sure that he would be very pleased with it.

You will probably have problems with 802.11b suggest an upgrade to 802.11g

GingerTez

So... Microsoft extoll the wonders of MCE for letting you do anything in any room of the house.... is the XBox360 (or XBox) really the ONLY way of using MCE to allow him to watch Live TV in another room? If so, Microsoft have just got me really PO'd (which is unusual... I'm not a MS basher!)

I can buy him the above spec for £300. It'll allow him to use it to do his homework (research on the internet, type it up in Word, etc) AND he can play games on it, and I would have thought that with MCE installed he'd be able to use it as an extender.