1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Two into One

Discussion in 'Home Cinema Building DIY' started by JEDIBLADE, Aug 4, 2005.

  1. JEDIBLADE

    JEDIBLADE
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2002
    Messages:
    1,427
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Sheffield
    Ratings:
    +109
    I have an InFocus 4805 with an M1-DA conector on the rear. I have a Denon 1910 that outputs DVI and I also have a PC that output's VGA. I have the supplied Infocus adaptor that changes the VGA into M1-DA and a Lindy Adaptor that changes DVI into M1-DA. The problem is I only have one M1-DA connection ? Does anyone know if a company makes a two into one M1-DA switcher ? At the moment I have to change the lead when I want a different source
     
  2. Dr Diversity

    Dr Diversity
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Try Beyond Hifi, they do a range of this type of thing
     
  3. baldrick

    baldrick
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2002
    Messages:
    3,365
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Providence, Rhode Island
    Ratings:
    +247
    You're other option would be to get a VGA to DVI (or upgrade your graphics card) and then use a DVI switch which might be cheaper than the M1-DA (what connector is that?)...
     
  4. JEDIBLADE

    JEDIBLADE
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2002
    Messages:
    1,427
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Sheffield
    Ratings:
    +109
    Thanks for your help, the m1-da is the connector on the back of my In-Focus projector. Even if i did convert the vga to dvi I'd still have two dvi's that need to go to one m1-da ?
     
  5. baldrick

    baldrick
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2002
    Messages:
    3,365
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Providence, Rhode Island
    Ratings:
    +247
    Jedi, if you converted your VGA to DVI and ran both DVI feeds through a switch box you'd then be able to use your existing DVI to M1-DA to take the output from the switch into the projector...
     
  6. JEDIBLADE

    JEDIBLADE
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2002
    Messages:
    1,427
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Sheffield
    Ratings:
    +109
    Thanks again, how do i convert my VGA into DVI and do you know where I can get a DVI switch box ?
     
  7. baldrick

    baldrick
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2002
    Messages:
    3,365
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Providence, Rhode Island
    Ratings:
    +247

Share This Page

Loading...