1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Twin VGA outputs

Discussion in 'Desktop & Laptop Computers Forum' started by henry1234, Jan 7, 2003.

  1. henry1234

    henry1234
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2002
    Messages:
    341
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Worcestershire
    Ratings:
    +8
    How do you manage using a HTPC with a normal monitor and a PJ. Is it a case of swapping the vga lead each time you use a different display device or are there any products to solve this?
     
  2. jbalat

    jbalat
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I think I may be in the same boat. I am not sure whether the PJ will have enough res to allow me to do my work. I am sure there must be a switchbox which will allow you to use 2 monitors for 1 pc... I know that there is a switch box to allow 2 computers to share a single monitor, maybe that might work
     
  3. halephil

    halephil
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2002
    Messages:
    61
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1
    Hi, a switch box is one answer or alternatively put the money towards a dual head graphics card. If your graphics needs are modest then a Radeon 9000 dual head is around £50 and runs a projector and separate monitor no problem even at different resolutions if needed.

    Cheers, Phil
     
  4. jbalat

    jbalat
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Dual head can be a bit tricky since you normally need a primary display and secondary running at the same time so that you know where your mouse is. The secondary usually has only basic features ie. crappy 3D, etc...
     
  5. RichardH

    RichardH
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2002
    Messages:
    753
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Hertfordshire, UK
    Ratings:
    +1
    Yes, it can be a bit naff. I bought a dual head Radeon 7000 for this very reason, but the video overlay only works on the primary screen, so you end up having the main screen up on the PJ anyway. I've found I only use a monitor for tinkering sessions, so I do swap it with the PJ connection when I need it - other times it gets moved out of the way to keep the WAF up.
     
  6. henry1234

    henry1234
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2002
    Messages:
    341
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Worcestershire
    Ratings:
    +8
    I found a product on videkonline that converts dvi to vga for about £10.

    It seems all cards now have VGA and DVI, with one of these I can use the DVI as a second vga.
     
  7. RichardH

    RichardH
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2002
    Messages:
    753
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Hertfordshire, UK
    Ratings:
    +1
    Most DVI/VGA twin cards come with that dongle anyway - worth looking around to make sure, as it'll save you that tenner.
     

Share This Page

Loading...