twin tuner dvd recorders

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by tiger3176, Jul 25, 2004.

1. tiger3176

tiger3176

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi all, can anyone tell me if there are any twin tuner dvd recorders on the market so that you can record 2 programs at the same time? Sorry if it's a silly question, but I'm new to all this. I know you can get Sky +, but I want to be able to copy stuff onto a disc. Thanks in advance for any help. :)

2. Rasczak

Rasczak
    Distinguished Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +2,578
    The Panasonic E75 DVDR/VCR combo has twin (analogue) tuners enabling you to record onto DVDR and VHS at the sametime - but I assume this isn't what you meant.

There are rumours that we will see a twin DVB DVD recorder next year but nothing has been announced yet.

3. tiger3176

tiger3176

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    It wasn't what I meant, but now you mention it, would you recommend this machine? Does it sacrifice quality in order to have two functions. If anybody has used this recorder I would much appreciate any feed back about it as I can't find much anywhere else. Thank for your time. :)

4. Rasczak

Rasczak
    Distinguished Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +2,578
    Well I would always recommend seperates, i.e. a seperate DVDR and seperate VCR. But the combos do have some benefits, i.e. easy dubbing between the two, only one box under the TV, ability to watch VHS in progressive scan (!).

Panasonic and JVC both have VCR/DVDR models out:

Panasonic E75:
    http://www.rgbdirect.co.uk/ProductDetails.asp?ProductCode=2581
    http://www.avland.co.uk/panasonic/dmre75v/dmr-e75v.htm

JVC DRMV1:
    http://www.rgbdirect.co.uk/ProductDetails.asp?ProductCode=2564