1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Twin Subs?

Discussion in 'Subwoofers' started by Johndm, Apr 27, 2003.

  1. Johndm

    Johndm
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2003
    Messages:
    1,816
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Bedford UK
    Ratings:
    +57
    Thinking of adding a second sub to my VA555ES, as it has outputs for two. (If you have sockets, you gotta use em eh?)

    Couple of questions,

    Are two really worthwhile?

    Would the phase setting on subs need to be opposite, ie one to 0 and one to 180?

    regards
     
  2. Ian J

    Ian J
    Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2001
    Messages:
    25,528
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +4,906
    Not being rude but one better quality subwoofer would be far more beneficial than another Gale.
     
  3. Johndm

    Johndm
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2003
    Messages:
    1,816
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Bedford UK
    Ratings:
    +57
    Did I say it would be twin Gales.......I am aware that the sub I currently use is of fairly low quality. The question is about two subs in general..:D
     
  4. nathan_silly

    nathan_silly
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Two Rel Studios III, two SVS SS's or PB4+, or two Velodyne HGS-18's... hmmm :)

    Might need a phase adjustment though (unless placing behind the L & R speakers)

    I'll probably get a single SVS CS-Ultra with a high powered two channel poweramp- easy just to add another one. Just connect speaker cable to the poweramp, and place..
     
  5. dts_boy

    dts_boy
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2001
    Messages:
    2,544
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Manchester suburbs...
    Ratings:
    +145
    its much moe difficult integrating two subs into a sytem than one, one can be hard enough at times! i would say buy a single, better quality sub to start with and i suspect you will be just as happy:smoke:
     
  6. nathan_silly

    nathan_silly
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I wondering about the BFD Pro. Does it have a one button wizard thingy which does everything for you? (by placing a SPL meter into it- it'll sort out the peaks and troughs automatically)

    Doing it manually seems a daunting task.
     
  7. bob007

    bob007
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Have a word with Taz, he has a thread going here in General Chat that might be of help. ;)

    [EDIT] Sorry, disregard my post, thought you were on about Twin Tubs. :suicide: :D
     
  8. nathan_silly

    nathan_silly
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    No jokes regarding women sitting on washing machines whilst in spin cycle please..


    oops! :)

    Hmm could be a alternatice to Buttkickers!
     
  9. Johndm

    Johndm
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2003
    Messages:
    1,816
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Bedford UK
    Ratings:
    +57
    So how do I connect two NORFROST VELO AC2000 2800 RPM POLAR machines to my VA555ES (bearing in mind that they will sound better than my one Gale 3080)
     
  10. DSM

    DSM
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2002
    Messages:
    85
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    West Wales
    Ratings:
    +2
    Yes 2 subs are better than 1, I have 2 servo 15's which are great!
    Like driving a V8 car - cruising at high speed and not thrashing like a straight 4! But make sure everything is bolted down!

    Good luck,

    Dave
     
  11. NicolasB

    NicolasB
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2002
    Messages:
    6,070
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Emily's Shop
    Ratings:
    +669
    If properly set up, two subs fed the same signal will generate the same volume level as a single sub but with a bit less distortion, which is a good thing - but they can be a real pig to set up.

    I don't know quite how the bass management works on the STRVA555. Some high-end products (Meridian and Lexicon, notably) have multiple subwoofer outputs that actually produce different signals - for example separating bass from the left speakers and bass from the right speakers, so you get your bass in stereo. If your hardware does this then it's probably worth experimenting with.
     
  12. Johndm

    Johndm
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2003
    Messages:
    1,816
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Bedford UK
    Ratings:
    +57
    The manual says..'You can connect an active subwoofer to either jacks. The remaining jack can be used to connect a second'

    Plenty of info from Sony there then! Would guess theres no difference in output from either jack unless someone knows better??
     

Share This Page

Loading...