TWF 32" LCD TV from Sainsbury's

Discussion in 'LCD & LED LCD TVs Forum' started by NJO, Dec 29, 2006.

Tags:
  1. NJO

    NJO
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2006
    Messages:
    18
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +3
    Hi - I just thought I'd share the details of my latest purchase....

    I just bought a 32" HD LCD TV from Sainsbury's for £399. The model is TWF LCD3241 ID. I'm new to this, but the spec looks good to a novice !

    I had never heard of them and had no info, so the purchase was a gamble. But, it is an excellent TV. The built in Freeview tuner is not perfect, but the picture from my Digifusion PVR (Freeview recorder) is stunning. The case looks smart too - much nicer than some of the other budget models...

    If anyone knows who makes these, I'd be interested to know.
     
  2. Buzz234

    Buzz234
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2006
    Messages:
    25
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    hey, would you mind posting some images on the forum of the set?

    front and connection panel wise?

    plus do you have a full spec or website link?

    many thanks!
     
  3. InterNUT

    InterNUT
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    To anyone who wants to know - it looks to be the same as the Technosonic :rolleyes: from Tesco (with the speaker at the botom)
     
  4. marty2005

    marty2005
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2005
    Messages:
    3,694
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Great Yarmouth
    Ratings:
    +155
    But with built in freeview.

    The model no. of the TWF seems silmilar to the recent WW and Tesco Technosonics.
     
  5. RockySpieler

    RockySpieler
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2005
    Messages:
    1,661
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Snaking the Lineup
    Ratings:
    +115
  6. NJO

    NJO
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2006
    Messages:
    18
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +3

    The TWF does have PC input (I'm assuming that that is the VGA Port).
    In answer to the earlier post - I don't know if it is the same as the Technosonic inside, but it looks much nicer on the outside!! :D
     
  7. Jayboyd

    Jayboyd
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi I cant view the hotdeals website even after registering.

    Would anyone be able to copy the pictures from that forum into this thread?

    Thanks in advance.
     
  8. 68Eddie

    68Eddie
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2007
    Messages:
    18
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hello, first post here, I have been reading threads on this forum for months but now feel compelled to post regarding my latest acquisition, I have just purchased a TWF 26" TV from Sainsbury's, I am impressed with the picture quality and the functionality of the freeview tuner. Time will tell if it was a good buy but for what it's worth I can recommend it.
     
  9. RockySpieler

    RockySpieler
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2005
    Messages:
    1,661
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Snaking the Lineup
    Ratings:
    +115
    The thread seems to have dissapperaed off hotukdeals..........I've had a good search, and can't re-discover it.....sorry.

    The photo was front view from camera phone, it look quite nice. No HD source images though.
     
  10. LeeUK

    LeeUK
    Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2005
    Messages:
    151
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +15
    I've been looking everywhere to try and find one of these in stock with no luck yet :(
     
  11. Jayboyd

    Jayboyd
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Lee where are you based?

    I know a store on South London in stock. (32inch)
     
  12. LeeUK

    LeeUK
    Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2005
    Messages:
    151
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +15
    Thanks for the kind offer! Luckily I found one in stock yesterday in Letchworth :smashin:
    Most sainsburys have said they are expecting a stock refresh soon though.

    I've got to say that I am impressed with this set! Great SD and HD pictures, inbuilt freeview works well and the EPG is quick & responsive, maybe not the nicest looking EPG ever but not the worst either!
    Nice remote control, top facia is brushed metal of some sort and is weighty & sturdy, does not feel cheap at all. Manual is in good clear english, unlike some I've had before. The actual set itself certainly looks the part, definately does not look like a budget set. Freeview auto-setup straight out of the box took less than 2 minutes :)

    For those wanting some more info on the connections: (i'll try and get some pictures of connections etc up over the weekend)
    VGA(PC) 15-pin D-sub with 3.5mm audio in jack
    Component
    HDMI (1 of)
    2x Scart
    S-video
    Composite
    RF (for analogue and freeview)
    usual headphone-out port etc etc...

    EDIT: forgot to mention this set has a card slot for what I can only imagine is topup tv?

    I'm using this set with:
    NTL digital cable over RGB scart
    xbox 360 over VGA/component (tried both, both look equally great so I'm staying with VGA to free up the component ports)
    DVD recorder/player over component
    Xbox 1 with xbmc over scart

    I'm running the 360 at 1360x766 or whatever it is, the picture is superb. I've also tried 1280x720 and could see no difference in quality. Surprisingly, the resolution on the 360 was left at 1920x1080 from where I previously had it connected to my dell 2405, and the sainsburys set accepted this resolution and scaled it perfectly!

    Most definately the best £400 I've spent in a long time!
    Will be happy to try and answer any questions if anyone considering this set has any :)
     
  13. uchiha_itachi

    uchiha_itachi
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Messages:
    90
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1
    Well first things, glad your happy with the purchase.

    Just a small request, could you take some pics of the set. I have no idea what it looks like. Also, if you have wii, could you show pics of what that looks like connected up to it?

    Thanks. :thumbsup:
     
  14. ittim

    ittim
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2006
    Messages:
    356
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +7
    saw these in my local sainsbury, i had to look twice, on first apperance they look like a more expensive tv.
     
  15. joker1970

    joker1970
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0

    Hi mate,sounds good does this tv,i don't suppose you know what the contrast ratio is and the response time and brightness i can't find details anywhere
     
  16. LeeUK

    LeeUK
    Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2005
    Messages:
    151
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +15
    No problem, I'll get some photos taken and post them up tonight if I get the chance :) I do not have a wii though!

    I'll check to see if the specs are in the manual tonight and post my findings! I'm sure I read them somewhere but I've looked at the specs of so many TVs recently I can't remember which is which :D


    These TVs are made by samsung apparently, which certainly seems feasible as the NTL remote code for samsung LCDs worked for me.
     
  17. ReflexReact

    ReflexReact
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2007
    Messages:
    1,184
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    St Albans
    Ratings:
    +44
    I too have bought this TV about 3/4 days ago. I am going to take pictures later tonight, and properly get the discussions going.

    At the moment i'm revising, so don't really have the time to ask allk the questions I want to, so i'll do that later.

    BUT, the specs for the TV in the manual do NOT state contrast or refresh rate, however i've got to say they tv does look really bright, and doesn't suffer from the dark images found on the Technosonic ones.

    The TV is of a 1366x768 resolution, and has 2x8w speakers (from the manual).

    The sockets include:

    Analogue
    2xSCART
    S-VIDEO and S-AUDIO in
    YPbPr In
    YPbPr Audio In
    PC VGA IN
    PC Audio IN (Headphone jack)
    HDMI IN
    AV Out
    and a "CI Common Interface" socket on the top (Freeview)?


    Anyone with questions, please start asking away - me or Lee should be able to answer. And I have no idea how to find out the responce time from the TV - nor the contrast - if theres a way, please say.

    Also at this point the HDTV looks fantastic, however standard TV through the freeview is not amazing (the DVB is not pretty!). However I'm not an expert with tv / dvd yet, so hope to improve the picture etc.

    One last thing to mention is there doesnt seem to be any advanced video options - there are colour and brightness profiles, but no noise reduction, and otherthings like that that I could find.

    I'll speak more on it later! With pics :)
     
  18. ReflexReact

    ReflexReact
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2007
    Messages:
    1,184
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    St Albans
    Ratings:
    +44
    I forgot to mention i have an Xbox 360 and will take pics of that running.

    And the exact model number is LCD3241ID (LCD 3241 ID)
     
  19. joker1970

    joker1970
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    nice one chaps:smashin: ,i'm getting very tempted by this tv now,i i'm getting ntl tvdrive fitted sat so will need one soon not that ntl have much hd content yet:thumbsdow

    Has anyone watched any football on it yet and if so was it ok no motion blur etc

    I read somewhere that these twf sets were rebadged dmtech tv's which is a subsidary of samsung so maybe they have a samsung panel.

    Looking forward to the pics,my local sainsburys had only 26" left recently,i'll hyave to bell them and see if they are getting some more 32"'s in
     
  20. 68Eddie

    68Eddie
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2007
    Messages:
    18
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Can anyone shed any light on the manufacturer of these, I couldn't find any address or contact numbers in the manual and TWF don't appear to have a web site. Obviously the set is guaranteed for 12 months by Sainsburys but what happens after that?
     
  21. twf

    twf
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    guys,
    although i'm somehow connected to the manufacturer of this tv, all i can say at the moment is that:
    1- manufacturer is a reputable company in europe also doing production for philips.
    2- the panel is from lg philips (not samsung)
    3- i'm sure there is an extended warranty agreement with an after sales service company in UK. so no need to worry....

    this tv is absolutely value for money... i suggest you make a comparison with known brands in the market to understand this. :smashin: :smashin:
     
  22. joker1970

    joker1970
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0

    mate don't suppose you know the contrast ratio,response time etc:smashin:
     
  23. LeeUK

    LeeUK
    Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2005
    Messages:
    151
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +15
    I personally found that reducing the sharpness when viewing DVB greatly improved the picture! If I remember correctly, sharpness is set at 75/100 by default which shows up all the compression type artifacts too much.
    I also changed some of the colour levels, and changed the picture mode from 'dynamic' to 'user' or 'normal'.
     
  24. toycollector

    toycollector
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2006
    Messages:
    413
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    stoke
    Ratings:
    +6
    Saw them in My local Sainsburys.have to say they looked like they were made by Airfix!
     
  25. 68Eddie

    68Eddie
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2007
    Messages:
    18
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    That's helpfull, I'll paint mine camouflage colours and hang it from the ceiling. Are you going to elaborate on the Airfix analagy?
     
  26. ReflexReact

    ReflexReact
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2007
    Messages:
    1,184
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    St Albans
    Ratings:
    +44
    i personally think they look really lovely - quite professional actually and the kind of TV you'd find in a pub or something (its got a bulky looking bottom which looks really nice). I'll take you all some pics later!

    And to the guy who is "in the know", do you know the responce and brightness levels etc?
     
  27. ReflexReact

    ReflexReact
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2007
    Messages:
    1,184
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    St Albans
    Ratings:
    +44
    Oh and LeeUK, i didn't find that reducing the sharpness helped at all for me. The image still looks crappy when not HD!
     
  28. g0rak

    g0rak
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
  29. deadlyledley

    deadlyledley
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2006
    Messages:
    509
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +21
    I assume there is no way of buying from Sainsburys online? You have to go in-store?
     
  30. ReflexReact

    ReflexReact
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2007
    Messages:
    1,184
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    St Albans
    Ratings:
    +44
    They make some good points, there is a small delay in changing channels on the freeview, but i highly recommend not buying this tv for the freeview. it might be a good tv, but its freeview receiever will not impress you. going to take some pictures for you all now!
     

Share This Page

Loading...