TViX about to die

Discussion in 'Video Streaming Boxes & Services' started by DesignerJohn, Feb 6, 2014.

1. DesignerJohn

DesignerJohn
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hello All

I have been using the really excellent TViX Slim S1 for many years now - no complaints and plays everything I can throw at it - Audio is passed through to my sony decoder via HDMI - perfect

However, it is acting up after our little one decided to push it off the cabinet - made a loud bang and has not worked properly ever after. I have replaced the HD but obviously something has been damaged internally.

My first choice was to just get a new TViX but it seems the company no longer exists.

So - the question is - what is a good replacement?

I prefer to make up my own movie sheets (use Thumbgen for that), like to have movies in genre folders with their own folder icons. The player will not be on the internet so needs the capability to have a large HD and additional drives added. Needs to play anything and everything from ISO through to M4V and MKV's with various encoding methods. Play all the HD audio fomats - better to use pass through so the sony decoder can play them.

Is it better to make a small XBMC or look at stand alone systems - Dune, Mede8er, Popcorn etc. I have looked at XBMC but the interface is a bit more clunky - the skins are okay, but do more than i need and i can't use the movie sheets that I have already generated.

There you go - not asking much and probably been asked many times over - Personally I would prefer a stand alone box, but what do you lot think?

2. Willosy

Willosy
    Novice Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Another TVIX owner (M-6600A with TV tuner) here looking for a replacement. Slowly dying, no more support/firmware.

I'm looking for something that does the following:

- Direct playback of media files over network from SMB/CIFS not only via DLNA