TV via Projector

Discussion in 'Projectors, Screens & Video Processors' started by Phil Harmonic, Feb 21, 2005.

1. Phil Harmonic

Phil Harmonic
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi, I'm pretty new to AV as a whole having survived with my Sky Digibox/DVD-VCR/TV set up for a long time. I recently bought a BENQ PB6200 projector which I've connected up to the VGA (D-sub 15) output from my PC and enjoy watching DVD movies. I would now like to watch TV sports programs via the projector but I don't seem to have a suitable output signal/connector to enable this. What is the best setup to do this and what kit would I need. I don't mind spending in order to achieve this.

Phil

2. explicitlyrics

explicitlyrics

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +18
    As far as I can tell your best bet is using S-Video for picture transmission from the Sky box to the projector. I dont think many Sky boxes have this output so you will need a Scart-->Svideo connector aswell. Then just put this cable into the projector and you are good to go.

I dont know how much you are willing to spend, but a good bet (given Sky isnt very high quality anyway...) is www.tvcables.com who do some very good cables for a very fair price with quick delivery. I hope this helps.

3. Pootle

Pootle
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +2
    I think you will find an s-video feed pretty disappointing, I used s-video when itv digital started up, both direct to the projector and via the s-video input to a radeon all in wonder card.

Gave it all up once I could get a digital PC card instead, the quality difference is dramatic on a FP screen.

I use a freeview card in the PC, but I don't know about an equivalent SKY PC card.