TV, VCR, DVD, NTL BOX, XBox + HiFi...how to?

Discussion in 'Cable TV & Virgin Media TV' started by frosch411, Jan 4, 2005.

1. frosch411

frosch411

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hello dear experts,

I count on your expert knowledge as I'm a pretty novice on all this cabling.
    I tried the search and the FAQ but was not really happy with the answers found.

The aim for me would be to have the sound of all hardware run through the HiFi with nice pic quality too. I am unsure if one of the switch boxes (can be manual like this one) can do the trick ? [​IMG]

Here are my components with their connections and then the current set up:

Indoor Aerial

TV: Proline 20N1
    Back: SCART1 AV1 RGB ; SCART2 AV2 ; Aerial Socket
    Front: Yellow, White, Red

VCR: Tevion MD 8950
    Back: SCART1 VCR/DEC ; SCART2 TV ; Audio out ; RF in + out
    Front: Yellow, White, Red

NTL Cable Box:
    Back: SCART1 VCR ; SCART2 TV ; Antennae ; TV ;

DVD: Tevion DVD 3000
    Back: SCART ; Audio out ; Digital (opt+coax) ; S-Video out ; Video out ;
    Component Video Out ;

XBox:
    UK standart modell

HiFi Philips MC 50
    Back: Digital out ; AUX/CD-R in ; SubWoofer out ;

Current Set up:

Indoor Aerial --> NTL Box Antennae

TV Scart1 AV1 --> VCR Scart2 TV
    TV Scart2 AV2 --> DVD Scart
    TV Front YWR --> XBox (cable was supplied with XBox)
    TV Aerial Socket --> NTL Box TV

DVD Audio Out --> HiFi AUX/CD-R in

I hope it's clear, please don't hesitate to ask for further details.

Currently with this set-up I can:
    - record with VCR from NTL Box
    - hear sound from DVD Player on the HiFi

I would like to hear sound from all the components (VCR, DVD, TV, NTL, XBox) permanently through my HiFi. Would the above mentioned switch box allow this? How would I have to cable the components up?
    I am not interested in recording DVDs to Video.

ANY information is greatly appreciated. :lease:

Thank you very much :blush:

Greetings :hiya:
    frosch411

P.S.