Answered TV to Soundbar connection ,

Discussion in 'Soundbars, Soundplates & Soundbases' started by natsnats, Jul 25, 2018.

  1. natsnats

    natsnats
    Novice Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2018
    Messages:
    3
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    E14 2DQ
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi All , i need to connect my Old LCD TV ( one with Analog cable i/p and head phone hack and NO Optical i/p)) with my new sound bar which has a HDMI arc i/p and Optical i/p. However, I am unable to do so as I have a HDMI (not the HDMI arc) cable and connecting the TV with soundbar using this cable does not work , What can i do to connect them ?

    TV model : 32BV701B ans soundbar model : sony HT-SF200 2.1 All-in-One Sound Bar
     
    Last edited: Jul 25, 2018
  2. Best Answer:
    Post #9 by Joe Fernand, Aug 13, 2018 (1 points)
  3. JayCee

    JayCee
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2004
    Messages:
    24,011
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Lanarkshire
    Ratings:
    +2,620
    Welcome.
    It's always a good idea to give the brand and model nos with a query like this.
     
  4. Joe Fernand

    Joe Fernand
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2002
    Messages:
    28,935
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    The Borders
    Ratings:
    +3,576
    'TV model : 32BV701B ans soundbar model : sony HT-SF200 2.1 All-in-One Sound Bar' - you require a Digital Optical Cable to connect the TV Optical Out to the Soundbar Optical Input.

    Joe
     
  5. natsnats

    natsnats
    Novice Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2018
    Messages:
    3
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    E14 2DQ
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi Joe , the TV is an old one and i do not have a Digital ip or op in the TV. I have 2 HDMI posts and normal RCA cable ports / headphones jack
     
  6. Joe Fernand

    Joe Fernand
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2002
    Messages:
    28,935
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    The Borders
    Ratings:
    +3,576
    Just had a look at the TV User Manual:

    TV Digital Out is on a Coax socket.

    Soundbar Digital In is an Optical socket.

    You will require:

    1 x RCA>RCA Cable
    1 x Coax to Optical converter
    1 x Optical cable

    Joe
     
  7. natsnats

    natsnats
    Novice Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2018
    Messages:
    3
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    E14 2DQ
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks for your suggestion Joe .I have not tried your solution but i have managed to get a bluetooth transmitter and connected that to the headphone jack of TV . I have then connected the soundbar with this bluetooth transmitter , I can now hear the TV sound from the soundbar . i will try your solution as well . Meanwhile , the Sound bar has a HDMI ARC port as well . and my TV has a HDMI port , I was wondering if i can connect the devices using a normal HDMI cable. I tried but it did not work.
     
  8. Joe Fernand

    Joe Fernand
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2002
    Messages:
    28,935
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    The Borders
    Ratings:
    +3,576
    HDMI ARC - only works if both devices have ARC enabled HDMI sockets, you also need to enable HDMI Control plus ARC on both devices.

    HDMI cable - any HDMI cable ought to work with ARC.

    Joe
     
  9. johnr2110

    johnr2110
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2006
    Messages:
    2,760
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    Eastbourne
    Ratings:
    +94
    Apologies for hijacking thread. How do you enable ARC on a TV nothing found in Menu?
     
  10. Joe Fernand

    Joe Fernand
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2002
    Messages:
    28,935
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    The Borders
    Ratings:
    +3,576
    Best Answer
    One of the HDMI ports on your TV has to be ARC capable before you can enable the Feature - which TV do you have?

    Joe
     
  11. johnr2110

    johnr2110
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2006
    Messages:
    2,760
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    Eastbourne
    Ratings:
    +94
    A Panasonic TX55EZ952B Oled
     
  12. Joe Fernand

    Joe Fernand
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2002
    Messages:
    28,935
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    The Borders
    Ratings:
    +3,576
    HDMI Input 2 on the TV is ARC capable.

    Connect the TV HDMI Input 2 to the ARC port on your AV Amp - then you will need to enable ARC on both devices - which usually also requires you to enable HDMI CEC 'Control' (VieraLink on a Panasonic) on both devices. Then you ought to have the option of enabling ARC - it is not the most simple Feature to enable at times.

    Joe
     
  13. johnr2110

    johnr2110
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2006
    Messages:
    2,760
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    Eastbourne
    Ratings:
    +94
    Just on or off currently on.
    Finally hoping to get a Sonos Beam which for best results should be connected to the ARC socket which is one of the hdmi 4k ports, which is being used, problem?
     
  14. zeppelino

    zeppelino
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2018
    Messages:
    3,938
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    134
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +1,211
    The Beam comes with an adapter that allows you to use an optical cable.
     
  15. Joe Fernand

    Joe Fernand
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2002
    Messages:
    28,935
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    The Borders
    Ratings:
    +3,576
    As above not for the audio signal - from the SONOS BEAM FAQ:

    What is HDMI-ARC?

    Sonos Beam connects to your TV’s HDMI-ARC port. Most TVs have two to four HDMI ports, one of which is labelled ARC, which stands for Audio Return Channel. The HDMI-ARC port syncs audio and picture, plus automatically pairs your TV remote to Sonos Beam. If you’re unsure if your TV has an HDMI-ARC port, consult your TV specs with the manufacturer.

    If your TV is older than 5 years, or otherwise doesn't have an HDMI ARC port, you can use the included optical audio adapter to connect Sonos Beam to the optical port on your TV. Please note that Amazon Alexa TV voice commands will not work when connected via optical adapter.


    I wouldn't worry about Optical vs. ARC.

    Joe

    PS If required you could add a suitable HDMI Switch to one Input on the TV to allow you to connect the BEAM to the TV ARC port plus have all of your UHD Sources connected to the TV.
     
  16. johnr2110

    johnr2110
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2006
    Messages:
    2,760
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    Eastbourne
    Ratings:
    +94
    Thank you for the help.
     

Share This Page

Loading...