1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

TV that displays Progressive Pal

Discussion in 'Projectors, Screens & Video Processors' started by mlinhares, Jun 10, 2002.

  1. mlinhares

    mlinhares
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2001
    Messages:
    354
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Portugal
    Ratings:
    +1
    I'm going to buy a new TV, but as I have a Arcam DV88 DVD player wich can be upgraded with a board to progressive pal I would like the TV to accpet and display progressive pal. Is there such TV in the market or is it going to be in the near future? (I saw the Loewe with VGA board, but we couldn't have geometry corrections).

    Thanks.

    Miguel Linhares
     
  2. magking

    magking
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2001
    Messages:
    378
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Norway
    Ratings:
    +1
    You would need a HDTV or plasma TV i believe. I dont think you can get any HDTV's in Europe, but if you got the cash for it, a plasma will handle it.
     
  3. gizlaroc

    gizlaroc
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2001
    Messages:
    8,735
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Norwich
    Ratings:
    +626
    what about the new toshiba, this takes a progressive signal not sure about pal prog though.

    read the posts about it in the tv section of the forum, someone may know by now.
     
  4. gizlaroc

    gizlaroc
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2001
    Messages:
    8,735
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Norwich
    Ratings:
    +626
    Here is the link to the thread.

    take your dvd player into a store and try it on the set.
     
  5. mlinhares

    mlinhares
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2001
    Messages:
    354
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Portugal
    Ratings:
    +1
    I have downloaded the Toshiba 32-36ZD26P manual and I believe it only does NTSC prog. scan and not PAL prog. scan.
     
  6. MartinCo

    MartinCo
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2001
    Messages:
    853
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Liverpool
    Ratings:
    +1
    I'm not sure..the manual only mentions the progressive mode once and isnt very clear about it.

    it just state something like "most usable on NTSC"... which would imply it does do PAL progressive depending on your interpretation.

    be surprised if it wasn't able to do pal if the official format is imminent as has been suggested.
     
  7. CoolioCat

    CoolioCat
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2002
    Messages:
    45
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I recall looking at the spec sheets for these two new Toshibas (stunning units indeed) on one website - and it actually mentioned 'PAL PROGRESSIVE SCAN'. I noted it because of the rarity you see PAL and PROGRESSIVE ever mentioned on a shop website :) I believe it was empire-direct, but it might have been unbeatable.co.uk or perhaps HED.

    Perhaps it has a little switch on the back which moves between PAL and NTSC, like the older Pioneer DVD models :) Or even on the remote! We can hope. :D
     
  8. Oblivion

    Oblivion
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2002
    Messages:
    524
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Milton Keynes
    Ratings:
    +2
    mlinhares

    I waiting for my Tosh 32ZD26P. Where did you get the manual from? Any chance of a link? :)

    Many thanks

    Paul
     
  9. mlinhares

    mlinhares
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2001
    Messages:
    354
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Portugal
    Ratings:
    +1
  10. Oblivion

    Oblivion
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2002
    Messages:
    524
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Milton Keynes
    Ratings:
    +2
    Thank you very much mlinhares :D

    Its helpful people like you who make this forum so resource it is

    Many thanks

    Paul
     
  11. mlinhares

    mlinhares
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2001
    Messages:
    354
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Portugal
    Ratings:
    +1
    Hi Oblivion could you confirm if it can do Pal progressive.
    Thanks.
     
  12. Oblivion

    Oblivion
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2002
    Messages:
    524
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Milton Keynes
    Ratings:
    +2
    Not yet, still awaiting the set. Some one else has confirmed it will display NTSC Prog Scan though. Have a look here I think McPastry confirmed it buy taking his US game cube in to power house.

    Paul
     
  13. McPastry

    McPastry
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Suppose another way to test it would be to get my US Xbox chipped and run a PAL game on it (this will output PAL progressive according to museumsteve). Or one of you rich peeps could take your Arcam into Powerhouse and give it a try? :D
     
  14. laurie

    laurie
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2001
    Messages:
    145
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Sydney Australia
    Ratings:
    +0
    yes I believe thats right but at 480p! not 525p
    cheers Laurie
     
  15. McPastry

    McPastry
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
  16. gizlaroc

    gizlaroc
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2001
    Messages:
    8,735
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Norwich
    Ratings:
    +626
    480p and 525p are both ntsc just different ways of describing it.

    576p and 625p are both PAL just different ways of describing it too.

    sorry :rolleyes:
     
  17. Oblivion

    Oblivion
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2002
    Messages:
    524
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Milton Keynes
    Ratings:
    +2
    The Toshiba 32zd26p has been confirmed as NTSC

    Paul
     
  18. alpha10

    alpha10
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2002
    Messages:
    3,197
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Essex
    Ratings:
    +192
    Hi,

    I'm a bit confused now, you say yes to both NTSC and PAL, but I thought I had just read on the mega post under tv etc that the PAL part hadn't been verified??

    Cheers

    Mark.
     
  19. Oblivion

    Oblivion
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2002
    Messages:
    524
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Milton Keynes
    Ratings:
    +2
    Sorry seems that the DVD player used converted Pal to NTSC and then Progressive Scan so only NTSC is confirmed :blush:

    Paul
     
  20. andrew constant

    andrew constant
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2002
    Messages:
    209
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    london
    Ratings:
    +10
     

Share This Page

Loading...