1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

TV Projection

Discussion in 'Projectors, Screens & Video Processors' started by JuJu, May 8, 2005.

  1. JuJu

    JuJu
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Okay, so I have an Infocus SP4805 and I'd like to get TV on it for big screen sports and the like. What do you guys recommend for getting TV on it.

    Note, I cannot get digital TV, this will be analogue signal, (although I pull it off of my NTL cable so picture quality is fantastic).

    I have an old TV tuner for my PC and it's absolutely crap. If they've improved then that's an option, but maybe some kind of stand alone tuner is available. What do yoy guys suggest?
     
  2. MikeK

    MikeK
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2004
    Messages:
    2,231
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Ratings:
    +316
    Why not just feed the output from the NTL cable box directly into the PJ?
     
  3. JuJu

    JuJu
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I don't have cable TV.
    I have cable broadband, but if you plug the cable that comes into the house into a normal TV you can tune in the normal 5 channels (I do this cause my house has a horrendous arial).
    So, it's not tunned or anything, I need something to do the tuning.
     
  4. Timh

    Timh
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2000
    Messages:
    4,805
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Altair-4
    Ratings:
    +128
  5. MikeK

    MikeK
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2004
    Messages:
    2,231
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Ratings:
    +316
    OK I see now!! :)


    You could just use a VCR or a DVDR!
     
  6. stlic

    stlic
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2004
    Messages:
    716
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +15
    Not sure whether the analogue signal from NTL would support freeview but that would be an option.
     
  7. JuJu

    JuJu
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'd hoped that, but turns out NTL arn't nice enough to transmit full Freeview down the cable for me to retreive :D (tried it at a mates).

    Spose I'll look at a new PC tuner, integrate it into Windows Media Center, might be good enough these days. Otherwise, yeah, a cheep video recorder looks like the easiest option (if i can find one with a composite or component output)
     
  8. scumball

    scumball
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2004
    Messages:
    6,209
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Harrow - London
    Ratings:
    +410
    Pricier than a VCR but with XGA scaling Presenter 2 or something cheaper on eBay
     

Share This Page

Loading...