TV or Blu ray player at fault?

Discussion in 'General TV Discussions Forum' started by DorsetDude, Jul 23, 2018.


    1. DorsetDude

      DorsetDude
      Member

      Joined:
      Jun 3, 2012
      Messages:
      35
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      11
      Location:
      Bournemouth
      Ratings:
      +1
      Wasnt sure which forum to put this in so trying here.
      I watch blu rays most weekends. Recently whilst watching, but not on every film, part way through a film, my tv will suddenly switch back to the TV picture and I have to fumble for the remote and switch the tv input back to the HDMI channel for the blu ray. Meanwhile having missed some of the film. This is extremely annoying to say the least and can happen more than once per film.
      Both tv and blu ray player are panasonic. TV is TXP46GT30B, not sure the model of the blu ray player.
      I would just go and buy another blu-ray but Im hoping to upgrade to an OLED UltraHD at some point so would buy an ultra hd blu ray player then. If I were to "pre" buy an ultra HD player presumably it wouldnt work with the GT30B telly?

      Advice on solving this problem most appreciated. Thanks
       
    2. zeppelino

      zeppelino
      Well-known Member

      Joined:
      Jan 24, 2018
      Messages:
      1,445
      Products Owned:
      1
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      84
      Location:
      UK
      Ratings:
      +341
      UHD player will work fine with your current set. It won’t play uhd discs, obviously, but will play blu Rays fine.

      Not sure what could be causing this, but try a different cable. Also, the tv should only act if it’s told to do something, so perhaps remote is acting up?
       
    3. redaprilia

      redaprilia
      Active Member

      Joined:
      Feb 10, 2010
      Messages:
      919
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      43
      Ratings:
      +108
      Do a "Shipping condition" reset on your TV . Ages ago there was some kind of over the air download via freeview to cure this but its very unlikely to be still available .
       
    4. mjcairney

      mjcairney
      Well-known Member

      Joined:
      Oct 26, 2003
      Messages:
      7,174
      Products Owned:
      2
      Products Wanted:
      2
      Trophy Points:
      137
      Location:
      Airdrie, Scotland
      Ratings:
      +999
      Easiest solution would be to, if possible, borrow a friend's Bluray player one evening and see if the fault still shows. If you live me near me I would be happy to help out - Airdrie, Lanarkshire.
      Martin.
       
    5. simonlewis

      simonlewis
      Well-known Member

      Joined:
      Jul 31, 2014
      Messages:
      4,139
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      136
      Location:
      stockport
      Ratings:
      +1,513
      Opposite ends of the country, he lives in Bournemouth.
       
    6. mjcairney

      mjcairney
      Well-known Member

      Joined:
      Oct 26, 2003
      Messages:
      7,174
      Products Owned:
      2
      Products Wanted:
      2
      Trophy Points:
      137
      Location:
      Airdrie, Scotland
      Ratings:
      +999
      Yeah, I should have checked that out put before posting. Still, no harm done.

      Martin.
       
    7. DorsetDude

      DorsetDude
      Member

      Joined:
      Jun 3, 2012
      Messages:
      35
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      11
      Location:
      Bournemouth
      Ratings:
      +1
      Will try the shipping condition reset. thanks
       

    Share This Page

    Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice