TV Link - what cable & where?

weemax

Standard Member
Ok guys, so I'm a total noob at all this :blush:

I currently have a philips "wireless transmitter" type thingy to send my sky picture upstairs from my sky digibox & so I can change my channels as well.

However! The whole thing is a farce as my router & a cordless phone sit beside the sender...

So, Ive went & purchased a tv link like THIS.

I'm now stuck as I'm totally unsure what type of cable I need for the task ahead... I was hoping to pick some cable up in Maplin (if its not too expensive in there) as there is one nearby.

Any help would be greatly appreciated as it driving me nuts! :thumbsup:

Last edited:

grahamlthompson

In memoriam
It's just normal 75ohm TV Coax. If the run is particulary long you might want to use sat grade coax. PF100 or WF100. If not RG6 will be fine.

logiciel

One end of the aerial cable plugs into the Sky receiver's RF2 socket, the other into the socket on the device, and the device into the remote TV.

weemax

Standard Member
Thats great guys, thank you very much for the help.

Ive just figured out (long story) that the house is kind of "pre cabled" for tv aerials (bedroom & kitchen socket etc). Now Ive worked out that I can use this to my advantage instead of running cable round the house. BUT... I need to join 2 pieces of the coaxial cable together..? Any ideas what to use? The join will be in the attic, so inside.

Last edited:

logiciel

A connector, like two sockets joined together - about 50p from your local store.
They come in m-m, f-f, and m-f, so get the right one!

weemax

Standard Member
A connector, like two sockets joined together - about 50p from your local store.
They come in m-m, f-f, and m-f, so get the right one!

Thanks!

Can I please be a real noob & ask for a link showing the connectors, so I know what I'm looking for :blush:

It is shielded cable that is there. It is the silver foil stuff.

logiciel

weemax

Standard Member