TV Link directly into TV a no,no??

Discussion in 'Satellite TV, Sky TV & FreeSat' started by dickst3, Oct 20, 2005.

  1. dickst3

    dickst3
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2005
    Messages:
    504
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +4
    Hi

    I plugged my TV link directly into a set in our bedroom and now I cannot tune the TV at all. I ran it through the tuning scan and it picked up nada. :confused:

    I remember reading here somewhere (I have tried a search) that you should not plug TV LInks directly into the back of the TV and instead should use a small length of coax - is this correct? Does it cause damage? :eek:

    Thanks
     
  2. JayCee

    JayCee
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2004
    Messages:
    21,740
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Lanarkshire
    Ratings:
    +2,232
    The main reason it is suggested not to plug it in directly to the aerial socket is because of its weight/length making it more likely to weaken/break the aerial socket.
     
  3. dickst3

    dickst3
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2005
    Messages:
    504
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +4
    So it doesn't do any damage internally?

    I wonder why it won't tune then :confused:

    Thanks for the reply. :)
     
  4. JayCee

    JayCee
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2004
    Messages:
    21,740
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Lanarkshire
    Ratings:
    +2,232
    None at all.

    What Make/Model of TV?
     
  5. dickst3

    dickst3
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2005
    Messages:
    504
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +4
    thats good news :)

    i will check.....

    thanks again :smashin:
     
  6. dickst3

    dickst3
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2005
    Messages:
    504
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +4
    its a philips with the clock in the front and two front legs and is all lit up when on.

    turns out we were trying to tune the radio in it - i didnt know it even had one :oops:

    all works fine now :smashin:
     

Share This Page

Loading...