TV Link directly into TV a no,no??

Discussion in 'Satellite TV, Sky TV & FreeSat' started by dickst3, Oct 20, 2005.

  1. dickst3

    dickst3
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2005
    Messages:
    504
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +4
    Hi

    I plugged my TV link directly into a set in our bedroom and now I cannot tune the TV at all. I ran it through the tuning scan and it picked up nada. :confused:

    I remember reading here somewhere (I have tried a search) that you should not plug TV LInks directly into the back of the TV and instead should use a small length of coax - is this correct? Does it cause damage? :eek:

    Thanks
     
  2. JayCee

    JayCee
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2004
    Messages:
    22,412
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Lanarkshire
    Ratings:
    +2,346
    The main reason it is suggested not to plug it in directly to the aerial socket is because of its weight/length making it more likely to weaken/break the aerial socket.
     
  3. dickst3

    dickst3
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2005
    Messages:
    504
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +4
    So it doesn't do any damage internally?

    I wonder why it won't tune then :confused:

    Thanks for the reply. :)
     
  4. JayCee

    JayCee
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2004
    Messages:
    22,412
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Lanarkshire
    Ratings:
    +2,346
    None at all.

    What Make/Model of TV?
     
  5. dickst3

    dickst3
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2005
    Messages:
    504
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +4
    thats good news :)

    i will check.....

    thanks again :smashin:
     
  6. dickst3

    dickst3
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2005
    Messages:
    504
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +4
    its a philips with the clock in the front and two front legs and is all lit up when on.

    turns out we were trying to tune the radio in it - i didnt know it even had one :oops:

    all works fine now :smashin:
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice