TV / leads - a list of what works best

Discussion in 'Xbox Forums' started by DIRY, Mar 18, 2006.

  1. eas4uk

    eas4uk
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2003
    Messages:
    1,606
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Coventry
    Ratings:
    +106
    Ive just bought the standard MS VGA cable for my Panny PX60 and
    it is mint with game playback - however I have just tried to stream a movie
    from the media centre PC and when it connects it has changed from a 16:9 feed to a 4:3 feed and stretched it - I now seem to have few options on aspect ratio it didnt do this over component - any ideas anyone?

    I have set the XBOX to output at 1024 x 768 which is the pannys natice res...
     
  2. mattg

    mattg
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2005
    Messages:
    4,291
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Oxfordshire
    Ratings:
    +564
    can anyone tell me if the cable that comes with the xbox core package has an optical out for sound?

    thanks, Matt.
     
  3. bluejmc2005

    bluejmc2005

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2005
    Messages:
    7,581
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +250
    I'm pretty sure it does not, matt.
     
  4. mattg

    mattg
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2005
    Messages:
    4,291
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Oxfordshire
    Ratings:
    +564
    nope, it doesn't.

    Where is the cheapest place for the hd cable thens? TDU Is looking pretty ps2 at the moment which is just not cricket!
     
  5. addyb

    addyb
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2005
    Messages:
    35,501
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    .
    Ratings:
    +12,305
    Does anyone have the same projector as me?

    I have the hitachi TX100 and currently use component. I just wondered if the VGA cable looked any better and also what picture settings they use on the PJ itself!
     
  6. CAS FAN

    CAS FAN
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2003
    Messages:
    35,343
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    167
    Location:
    The Wheldon Road end!
    Ratings:
    +8,371
    Kopite4ever has one of those - may be worth a PM.:)
     
  7. addyb

    addyb
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2005
    Messages:
    35,501
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    .
    Ratings:
    +12,305
    Yeh but he's a scouser!!

    Only kidding! I will PM him and compare notes!
     
  8. bluejmc2005

    bluejmc2005

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2005
    Messages:
    7,581
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +250
    just connected my tosh 32WL66 va MS VGA and imo, the picture is stunning. better than comp (although only just) although its even more noticabl on dvds, which i assume is down to the upscaling achievable via VGA
     
  9. mattg

    mattg
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2005
    Messages:
    4,291
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Oxfordshire
    Ratings:
    +564
    can you upscale via component also?
     
  10. bluejmc2005

    bluejmc2005

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2005
    Messages:
    7,581
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +250
    no just progressive scan I belief.
     
  11. ash

    ash
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2005
    Messages:
    11,302
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +396
    What do people find to work best, component or VGA on the Panasonic PX60/600?
     
  12. johnny70

    johnny70
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2005
    Messages:
    1,991
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Ashford in the Water
    Ratings:
    +321
    Quick question, got a Samsung LE26R41B, should i use the lead that came with the 360 (premium) or is there something better to get a better picture out of this set, a MS VGA for example? want to set it up tomorrow, so any advice would be great.

    Cheers

    JOHNNY
     
  13. mattg

    mattg
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2005
    Messages:
    4,291
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Oxfordshire
    Ratings:
    +564
    Hi all, I am in a similar postion to john, will component give dark images?

    I don't mind getting the vga cable, but would prefer to use component as it frees up the vga for my pc.

    regards, matt.
     
  14. horseflesh

    horseflesh
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2004
    Messages:
    1,252
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Dublin
    Ratings:
    +52
    I don't have a 360 yet, but I am VERY tempted to pick one up mainly because of the HD-DVD drive.
    But what will be the best way to connect to my TV (Sony Bravia LCD, V Series)
    My DVD player is going into component, amp into HDMI, and digital TV into on of the Scarts.
    So where do I put the Xbox 360??
    Can a 360 be connected by component? And if so, is there such thing as a component "splitter"?

    thanks,
    clueless in Dublin....
     
  15. eas4uk

    eas4uk
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2003
    Messages:
    1,606
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Coventry
    Ratings:
    +106
    Doesn't your amp have a component switcher?
    If not does your Bravia have a PC input - ie use the VGA cable...
     
  16. horseflesh

    horseflesh
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2004
    Messages:
    1,252
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Dublin
    Ratings:
    +52
    Yes, the Bravia DOES have PC input (which I don't use).
    What's the picture/sound quality like through VGA? Does VGA carry video only, or audio too??
    (I told you I hadn't got a clue, LOL)
     
  17. eas4uk

    eas4uk
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2003
    Messages:
    1,606
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Coventry
    Ratings:
    +106
    Well its a split decision - some people prefer component some prefer the VGA - to be honest I couldnt really tell the difference - they both look excellent to me - the VGA lead is the same as the component lead whereby there is an optical output and stereo phono jacks which could either go to your amp (preferable) or screen
     
  18. horseflesh

    horseflesh
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2004
    Messages:
    1,252
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Dublin
    Ratings:
    +52
    Is the official Microsoft VGA cable alright? Or is it worth going for a "better" one??
     
  19. eas4uk

    eas4uk
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2003
    Messages:
    1,606
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Coventry
    Ratings:
    +106
    I found it pretty good - the only other one which I heard was any better was the Monster cable however, it is more than twice the price, and has a 3.5m jack plug rather rather than an optical output (toslink) so means you would need an adapter which put me off a bit...
     
  20. Lezman

    Lezman
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2006
    Messages:
    3,285
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Reading
    Ratings:
    +448
    Just to add my two pennies as lots of people seem to have the same set as me.

    I used to use a sammy LE-26R41BD with the MS component. After months of deliberating i bought the MS VGA cable and at first i couldn't stand it due to the 'washed out' colours, although I did like the picture with less jaggies.

    After playing Dead rising (on component the people look orange) and oblivion (couldn't see it the dark via component) with the VGA I'm not going back!
    The colours while not as bright, seem much more realistic to me now- especially on Dead Rising (i don't get tearing on mine either- but others seem too) and the amount of detail I see in Oblivion now is much better.

    Of course its personal preference and the only way to find out is to try yourself on your own TV, but after a few weeks of experimenting this is my opinion on the VGA vs Component saga.
    Hope it helps guys,

    Lezman
     
  21. Dazza

    Dazza
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2002
    Messages:
    1,199
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Bolton, Lancs
    Ratings:
    +67
    TV - Toshiba 32WL66
    Cable - VGA Monster cable
    Resolution - 1280x1024

    Terrible banding and dodgy colours.
    I really expected an improvement over component and i thought the picture problems were only applicable to a few 360 titles but after looking ok initially after bootup the picture soon goes down hill whatever you happen to be playing :mad: :( :thumbsdow
     
  22. meansizzler

    meansizzler
    Banned

    Joined:
    May 11, 2005
    Messages:
    7,892
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    104
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +343
    Dell 37" LCD TV

    Joytech VGA 1360*768
     
  23. johny1980

    johny1980
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    Messages:
    2,468
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Aberdeen
    Ratings:
    +348
    Ive just got a ms vga to compare with component

    as soon as i saw the dashboard with vga i thought 'im not gonna like this !'
    this was due to the lack of colour

    however, once into games this is not noticeable and its growing on me

    hd trailers of marketplace look loads better via vga

    not a lot of people seem to realise on this thread that only with the vga cable will your 360 upscale SD dvd's also :thumbsup:

    lastly, the audio lead on the vga easily reaches my amp for surround sound which isnt the case with the standard component
     
  24. Deadsquirrel

    Deadsquirrel
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Being a noob to all things HD (only just got a Panny 42PX60) this thread has come in very usefull to me as initially i thought that only the Component 360 lead carried the HD signal, however, from what i understand after reading the various posts here is that both the Component and VGA support HD.

    Anyone here have a Panasonic PX60? and if so what method have they used to connect their 360.

    If the above statement is true then it looks like VGA will be the way to go though
     
  25. eas4uk

    eas4uk
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2003
    Messages:
    1,606
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Coventry
    Ratings:
    +106
    Ive got the 37PX60 mate - if your just going to be using it for games and possibly the HD-DVD add on you will barely be able to tell the difference between the component pic and VGA cable - I couldnt - both look excellent to me. I have had some troubles with the VGA when using the 360 as an extender to my Media Centre PC as the Panny, although widescreen, has a 4:3 resoultion, but manages widescreen as it has rectangular pixels (weird I know but heh, it works) I havent yet round to fiddling too much with more resolutions due to lack of time... however if this interests you it has been mentioned in some other threads as well...

    The VGA will free up that set of component inputs which is what got me interested :cool:
     
  26. Deadsquirrel

    Deadsquirrel
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I ended up getting the official Microsoft Component lead in the end, the VGA lead did give a slightly better picture for DVD playback, however, the fact that you can only have ratio's of 4:3 or 16:9 via the VGA just wasn't for me as i tend to use Zoom 1 for letterbox movies (Star Wars etc.)

    So Component was the way to go for me
     
  27. Woking WHU

    Woking WHU
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2005
    Messages:
    41
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1
    Any tried and tested what works best yet???
     
  28. johny1980

    johny1980
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    Messages:
    2,468
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Aberdeen
    Ratings:
    +348
    neither is best

    its down to personal choice

    i could not decide either way but because vga will allow the 360 to upscale dvd's i opted for it :thumbsup:
     
  29. sofasurfer

    sofasurfer
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2003
    Messages:
    1,544
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Ratings:
    +127
    Do you get any tearing from this set up.I have my 37px60 via VGA and it really puts me off.Playing Dead Rising was giving me a headache with all the tearing and Im starting to see it more and more.With component there is no problem at all.

    Are there any settings in the PC menu on the TV that would help?

    I dont really want to go back to the component as my Wii will be using that in a couple of months time.
     
  30. slackbladder

    slackbladder
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2003
    Messages:
    1,263
    Products Owned:
    9
    Products Wanted:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    67
    Location:
    "London, a small village on Mars..."
    Ratings:
    +111
    I recently got the VGA cable. I too noticed a slight lack of colour vibrancy but that was less noticeable in games. Picture quality seemed slightly better (on my SP46 DLP). I did like the resolution options. But if you want to play in 1080i you need component as VGA obviously doesn't support this.
     

Share This Page

Loading...