• New Patreon Tier and Early Access Content available. If you would like to support AVForums, we now have a new Patreon Tier which gives you access to selected news, reviews and articles before they are available to the public. Read more.

TV - DVD RW - Sky Connection

SamLuvit

Standard Member
Hi
really hope someone can help.... please like I'm 6 coz I'm not that good at this, a friend set it up, but it didn't work and they told me to "mess about with it":eek:
I have the following
TV - Sony Bravia 3 LCD - 2 scarts
Goodmans - DVD Recorder - GDVD303RW - 2 scarts
Sky+
I had the following, Sky / watching DVD & Sky Recording all worked - but loading blank DVD the LCD on the DVD shows "Scart Vid" - no picture - green / yellow screen
TV - Scart 1 to Sky Scart TV
TV - Scart 2 to DVD Scart Out
DVD - Scart In to Sky Scart VCR
Sat disk to Sky
Cable (not sure of technical name) TV to DVD
Please can someone tell me what to change before I throw it out the door, or it blow up:lease:
Thanks

D

Deleted member 30535

Check whether the DVD is outputtting RGB signal on the Scart to the Sony because the Sony may only accept RGB on Scart #1. Swap the Scats on the TV and see if the DVD output displays. I presume you have Sky+ set to output RGB?

Depending what you have may require a slight re-routing of Scarts to get everything to work with the best possible quality of picture. But it depends on whether the DVD can pass-through RGB signals and record RGB signals. Let us know how you get on with the swapping of cables first!

SamLuvit

Standard Member
Hi

Thanks for the response. What is RGB (just so I learn something) and how would I check if it's outputting?

I tried swopping the cables, but lost the DVD, then realised I'd taken out the third scart:facepalm:
So, have replaced and set up as you suggested:
TV1 to DVD out
TV2 to Sky TV
DVD in to Sky VCR
I now have Sky and DVD and I am recording my first programme.:clap: