1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

TV coax(RF) to AV? possible?

Discussion in 'Cables & Switches' started by thecount, Mar 15, 2004.

  1. thecount

    thecount
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2004
    Messages:
    173
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    Hi, I need to convert a tv cable - I think I mean RF, the cable that comes from my TV Aerial to the the phono type cables, Red, Black and Yellow.

    Is this possible and if so could you advise what I need to purchase?

    Sorry, I'm not technically minded!!
     
  2. Ian J

    Ian J
    Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2001
    Messages:
    25,529
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +4,906
    The non technical answer is No

    What exactly are you trying to do :confused:
     
  3. thecount

    thecount
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2004
    Messages:
    173
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    well, I've had some kind of RF splitter fitted int he loft and that is also connected to the RF connection of the SKY box. This in turn feeds into four rooms via RF. I'd like to take one of those cables and hook it into a projector but the projector.

    ?
     
  4. LV426

    LV426
    Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2000
    Messages:
    12,786
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Somewhere in South Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +4,974
    You need a tuner.

    The cheapest way to obtain a tuner is by buying a cheap VCR, tuning it in to the relevant signal and then piping its video and audio outputs to the device.

    I doubt that taking your $ky signal via RF into a tuner and then on to a projector, will give very good results, though.
     
  5. thecount

    thecount
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2004
    Messages:
    173
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    I actually have a AEi Digi Sender - had it for a few years but the picture isn't good at all from the distance I need - are there any other ways to do this?

    Is there a way of getting a stronger signal?
     

Share This Page

Loading...