1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

TV Cards Thread ?

Discussion in 'Microsoft Windows' started by evolution400, Aug 17, 2005.

  1. evolution400

    evolution400
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2004
    Messages:
    1,136
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Cwmbran
    Ratings:
    +17
    I have been looking for reviews of different types of TV cards I bought the PVR-350 purely because I have been running MCE for a while now and wanted compatibilty since then there are a number of new cards maybe we should start a TV Card thread so users can post thier own reviews of thier cards or compile a list of suitable cards from best to worst etc for PVR and DVB-T with links etc.
    Hardware specs of each card etc.
     
  2. meansizzler

    meansizzler
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2005
    Messages:
    7,582
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    104
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +266
    (DVB-T), Hauppauge Nova-T

    Great Card, can run it in dual tuner setup with latest drivers, good picture if you have a decent aerial, but the sound is not up to scratch compared to a standard tv, it sounds like it's a mono signal, it's to flat, not enough base..., would be happy if someone would confirm this, anyway there worth the cash...
     
  3. RockySpieler

    RockySpieler
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2005
    Messages:
    1,659
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Snaking the Lineup
    Ratings:
    +116
    I have cheapie visionplus PCI DTT card (twinham), it works fine. Allows recording of one channel whilst watching another (provided it is on same mux) about £44 when I got it.

    I use XP, but BDA drivers have finally been realised by TWINHAM for linux etc.

    My version conflicts with my ati 9800se aiw tuner, and they do state that you should remove other tv cards.......not so good if you want to record DTT and analogue. The gfx works fine, but I cannot use aiw TV tuner, but now I've got dtt I do not need to.

    No teletext or RED button, but you can see inter-active feeds ch 701,702.

    The software / GUI is OK. Fairly sensitive, good signal strengths.

    Latest PCI version has dual analogue + DTT + FM tuner, still fairly cheap, they also do cable and satellite version.
     
  4. evolution400

    evolution400
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2004
    Messages:
    1,136
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Cwmbran
    Ratings:
    +17
  5. philipb

    philipb
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2002
    Messages:
    1,986
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Swindon
    Ratings:
    +132
    Avermedia DVB-T USB works really well.
     
  6. Cyclone

    Cyclone
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2005
    Messages:
    403
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +44
    Where did you get your NVTV card from ?
    I can find some cards, but none are listed as MCE.

    Also whats the difference between cards listed as MCE compatable or just windows XP ? Sorry, this is all new to me :(

    For example there is this NVTV card:

    http://www.savastore.com/productinfo/product.aspx?product_id=10283103&catalog_name=Savastore&page=mainfeatures&pid=207

    but I assume it won't work with Windows MCE, if anybody could explain the differences between MCE and Win XP cards please :)
     
  7. evolution400

    evolution400
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2004
    Messages:
    1,136
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Cwmbran
    Ratings:
    +17
    All of the above cards are listed as MCE compatible.
    My NVTV card is the USA EVGA version EVGA just being the producer the one in your link is the same card just produced by XFX all NVTV cards are MCE compatible.
    There are no difference between MCE and XP cards only drivers for the cards themself. All hauppauge PVR and DVB-T cards are MCE compatible all NVTV cards and All ATI 550 cards plus many more manufacturers.
     
  8. Cyclone

    Cyclone
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2005
    Messages:
    403
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +44
    Thanks for clearing that up.
     
  9. Sandman

    Sandman
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2002
    Messages:
    3,152
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Glasgow
    Ratings:
    +718
    Blackgold DVB-T freeview Tuner

    Great card, knocks the socks off my old ATI e-home wonder which had a sky signal running through it.
    Supports dual tunner set up and is compatable with MCE. Picture is very crisp and with my pc cennected to my plasma the picture is better than a standard freeview set top box produces. I cannot recoment this card enough. Can buy direct from the manufacture for £60 or in a pack of two for £106.

    http://www.gta-ltd.co.uk/Stockists.htm
     
  10. meansizzler

    meansizzler
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2005
    Messages:
    7,582
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    104
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +266
    How good is the FM tuner on this, does it work when you access it from the "Radio" option in Media Center..., also how does the audio sound, better than the audio from the sky box/standalone freeview box,
     
  11. mkonieczko

    mkonieczko
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2005
    Messages:
    55
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Ewhurst, Surrey
    Ratings:
    +0
    I also use the Balckgold cards and agree with Sandman about picture quality. Much better than Sky and Sky + (via S-Video into my Fuji plasma). Sound quality is great in Pro Logic.

    I am still suffering with some 'jittering' but believe this to be a refresh/scan issue as I get this a bit from raw DVDs too - particularly noticeable when watching scrolling credits or tickerbars.

    Mark
     
  12. meansizzler

    meansizzler
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2005
    Messages:
    7,582
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    104
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +266
    Pro Logic?, How does it pass a prologic signal through your computer?, or are your speakers set to encode everything to prologic...would be happy if someeone can do a small recording , maybe a minute from "The Hits" so I can see what the video quality and sound is like, I'd happily do one if anyone wanted one from my novat-t
     
  13. David PluggedIn

    David PluggedIn
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2003
    Messages:
    544
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +10
    also there is the SweetSpot MCE , which is essentially the same card as the Black Gold, except it is supplied with no CD (drivers are downloadable instead)
     
  14. meansizzler

    meansizzler
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2005
    Messages:
    7,582
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    104
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +266
    David, any chance you can lend me a sweetspot video processor card, want to check out the capabilites of it before I fork out the cash for it...?
     
  15. David PluggedIn

    David PluggedIn
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2003
    Messages:
    544
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +10
    Hi ms,

    if you have a search on these forums, also have a look at the reviews page on the SweetSpot website then there is *stacks* of information on the card and its capabilities..what is it exactly that you want to know?
     
  16. meansizzler

    meansizzler
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2005
    Messages:
    7,582
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    104
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +266
    I want to do some capturing with a sweetspot and a multichannel audio source fed into my sound card, really need a card to test this out, then I can find the right software that would be best suited to work with it, I plan on using windows media for the capture format...
     

Share This Page

Loading...