Tv ariel advice...

Discussion in 'General TV Discussions Forum' started by Karen 2018, Nov 8, 2018.

1. Karen 2018

Karen 2018
    Novice Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +1
    Hi all. I'm a newbie. I have a concern over my tv ariel. My tv freeview hasn't worked for ages and I bought a new cable to go in wall socket but still nothing.

Today I had an ariel engineer come over who advised that my current tv ariel on roof was getting little to no signal. Even a new one was the same. He advised me yo get new ariel mask (which he did) and have a amplifier connected to it and the cable/lead will go straight through to the tv I'm using, with a booster at back of tv, not through the loft or the wall sockets. Basically the lead will run from the tv ariel on roof, across the rest of roof and then will go through the back wall to the lounge. Making the wall sockets none existent. Is this normal? I'm so used to getting new ariel mask and just connecting my tv's to the wall socket in previous house.

2. rodd1000

rodd1000

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +443
    Sounds pretty normal to me, most installers will go that route of running the cable down and into the desired room. Sometimes the socket in the wall can be old wiring and if the junction box at the other end isn’t easy to find then it’s the quickest and cheapest solution. I wouldn’t worry to much as long as they do a tidy job.

3. EndlessWaves

EndlessWaves
    Distinguished Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +2,406
    You've got an Ariel on your roof?
    ariel-nomad_6.jpg
    I reckon the bars on that are a bit too widely spaced to usefully pick up a TV signal.

Although I'm not sure what you mean by an Aerial Mask. The first time I assumed it was a typo for Mast - you were trying to mount the aerial higher - but then you repeated it saying you were used to getting new ones.