1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

TV Aerial and RF2

Discussion in 'Satellite TV, Sky TV & FreeSat' started by tristanv, Aug 1, 2005.

1. tristanv

tristanv

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Please help I am new to DIY aerial and sky installation. Sorry for the long explanation below.

I have just moved in to a new house and it only had an aerial socket in one room. The loft aerial has a cable coming out of it which is then connected to another cable via coaxial plugs which then runs to the aerial socket. I have connected two other sockets to this coaxial point in the loft via plugin two splitters together and running two more wires down to the two new sockets. Both of these wires have additional joins in. The tv signals are ok if I use boosters.

However, I have sky + in one room and I want to be able to retain the tv aerial picture in this room but also want to run sky back through the socket via another splitter and the RF2 to another tv.

I have done this and even with a booster the picture is not Sky picture is not great on the extra tv.

I am sure the above is not the most elegant way of doing things. What is the simplest and most cost effective way of doing what I want. I am sure the splitters and joins in the cables must worsen the picture quality, but I just used what I had.

Please help.

2. Parklife

Parklife

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +33
    Try and change the RF channel on Sky. You may need to play around with a few and keep tuning the second TV in until you get better results (Services 4-0-1 select)

You are never going to get a spot on picture on the 2nd TV but if it is a small TV then the picture is more than acceptable. I have the my RF2 going to a 17" LCD and the picture quality is ok.