Turntable buzzing in left channel

Discussion in 'Hi-Fi Stereo Systems & Separates' started by Bikestard, Apr 29, 2017.

1. Bikestard

Bikestard
    Novice Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hello, I'm quite new to this and have bought a Rotel RP1033. It was sold with a shake at 33, which I fixed (weighting issue), but the phono plugs were disconnected, wires loose at the pre amp end of the cables. I used my basic knowledge to solder a replacement phono cable but there is now a buzzing in the left channel. Speaker produces the record sound, but with a background hum.

I know thia could probably be many things, but is there any advice on things Inshould check?

2. BlueWizard

BlueWizard
    Distinguished Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +4,135
    Bad ground, bad cable, or poor or shorted solder connection seem the most likely problems.

Steve/bluewizard

3. Bikestard

Bikestard
    Novice Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks Steve, would I be wise to clean the terminals and resolder with a new phono cable?

My main worry is that it's the cable in the turntable that runs to the arm, which I would be out of my depth changing.

4. Bikestard

Bikestard
    Novice Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ok, so I tried lots of things, and as a last resort thought I would try swapping the headshell with my Sansui SR222 MK2. Works perfectly, so the issue is the headshell.

Can't swap cartridge/stylus as they are different fittings, but it's in the headshell somewhere.

Any ideas of the most likely cause of buzzing on the left channel causes by the Headahell. All connections look fine and sound comes from both speakers.

Tried faulty headshell on another TT and same problem.

The stylus is crap anyway, so possibly thinking replace the whole headshell?

5. BlueWizard

BlueWizard
    Distinguished Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted: