• New Patreon Tier and Early Access Content available. If you would like to support AVForums, we now have a new Patreon Tier which gives you access to selected news, reviews and articles before they are available to the public. Read more.

Turntable advice

danbridle16

Novice Member
Hi Guys,

First time post. Bear with me!

I have a Cambridge CXA81 and LS50 system on order that I was able to pick up with a discount.

I figured it might be a popular set up but I have no experience at all with turntables.

I was hoping someone could give me some pointers with regards to a suitable turntable/preamp with a budget of approx £800 at the absolute maximum.

All help gratefully received.

Cheeers,

Dan

BT Bob

Distinguished Member
I have the 81's baby-brother, the CXA61 and really love it.

I have a Rega P6/Ania and a CA Alva Duo phono with it, but that's above your budget.

I'd be looking at a Planar 3 (£579 w/o cartridge or £649 with the Elys 2). I think I'd look at buying w/o and then fitting a AT VM95E (c.£42). The beauty of that AT range is they're a direct swap to Rega cartridges so you don't have to worry about the height of the arm, and - when funds allow - you can but a better stylus and it's a straight swap. Also, the Planar 3 has the same arm as the P6, so it will take much higher-spec cartridges if you ever wish to upgrade further.

I'd also look to pair it with a Rega Fono MM (£199) (I would recommend the Schiit Mani (£149) but they're like rocking-horse poo in the UK at the moment - Schiit have no UK stock and used one are changing hands on eBay for up to double the RRP!!!)

Although I prefer the Alva because it does both MM & MC, it does cost a little more, but also has a very good built-in headphone amp (not a huge deal as a the CXAs have a headphone out, of course), but I prefer the sound straight from the Alva (but that's just me).