Turntable advice - newbie

jsmcg

Novice Member
Reaction score
Hi, been reading too many reviews and too many YouTube clips trying to settle on which turntable should my hard saved money be spent.I am returning to vinyl and realise that whichever turntable I buy it will likely be the one for a long time (age & money!) so I think I have narrowed it down to these options;
Pro-ject X1 (top of my budget, speed control, has VTA adjustment, separate rca cables, acrylic platter, heavy plinth)
Funk Firm Gett (quirky, speed control, has VTA adjustment, acrylic platter, easy to add their upgrade mat, very few on line reviews, tone arm durability?)
Rega Planar 3 (no speed control, no VTA adjustment, but great reviews!)

Is there a difference in where the belt drives I.e. sub platter or the main platter (Funk Firm Gett)

Am I possibly too hung up on having VTA adjustment?

Any comments (constructive) would be appreciated.

Thank you

For what it's worth ;)

Project I have no knowledge of.
Funk Firm doesn't look great to me for the money. I know it has history but it just looks naff to me. At that size the platter will be very light which isn't great. It also doesn't seem to specify what the cart is, if any though one is pictured. On the plus side there is speed control. Do you ever play singles though.
Of those three I'd go for a Planar 3 without cart and pick your own. Lots of upgrades (including VTA) to play with later on the Rega too.
Whatever you decide aim to spend at least £150-200 on your cart and you'll be glad you did.

For what it's worth ;)

Project I have no knowledge of.
Funk Firm doesn't look great to me for the money. I know it has history but it just looks naff to me. At that size the platter will be very light which isn't great. It also doesn't seem to specify what the cart is, if any though one is pictured. On the plus side there is speed control. Do you ever play singles though.