Turning on PC from another room

stonking

Established Member
Reaction score
Hi, I want to build a PC that will live in my projector room and be attached to my projector for upscaling DVD's etc but I also want access to it in my study where I will have a monitor and keyboard. I do not want to have the PC running all the time so need a way to turn the PC on and off from my study. Any suggestions?

If your motherboard or network card support Wake on LAN., then you should be able to wake the remote PC from (effectively) off by stuffing it a magic packet over the network from your office PC. You will then be able to remotely control it using VNC, e.g. TightVNC, and switch it off as if sitting in front of it.

Added Later

mmm...I now see I've misread what you've said :). What you basically want is some sort of wireless KVM, as you won't actually have a PC in your office, just a keyboard/mouse/monitor? They do seem to exist, e.g. this, although I've no personal experience of them...

I do not want to have the PC running all the time so need a way to turn the PC on and off from my study. Any suggestions?
No big deal. This is what standby mode is for.

You can put the machine to sleep using the remote keyboard and it will wake up when you hit the remote space bar twice.

To be honest I do not know if I should go wireless or cables. Cables would only be about 10m long so I guess that is do-able.

What has confused me is that I have to press a button to turn it on and I did not know how to over come this. Standby mode? Does the hard drive not spin and the cpu fans etc run? Something must still be awake in order to take the instructions.

When I build a new machine I will use Vista, dual core and a fairly good graphics card. Does anyone know if Vista has any issues with "Stand-by mode"?

Thanks for the help people.

S3 stanby mode leaves only the RAM and motherboard powered, no CPU, fans, hard drives etc.