1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

tupt 600 media box

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs' started by oanyego, Jun 4, 2005.

  1. oanyego

    oanyego
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2005
    Messages:
    31
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    can anyone point me in the direction of reviews of this product or explain why it has received such a bad press?
     
  2. nak

    nak
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2004
    Messages:
    146
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Birmingham
    Ratings:
    +12
    Hi oanyego,

    The Panasonic Media Box with analogue tuner was supposed to be a one-stop solution to all your hook ups.

    However bad on-board switching meant that your lovely DVD component signal was plagued by jaggies, halos/ghosting and in some boxes - chroma lag.

    If you're an analogue die-hard who craves Fastext, then it does that job perfectly well. But get a seperate component or DVI board for your full DVD enjoyment.

    (It's a shame nobody has made a hybrid Pioneer to Panny connection as the Pioneer media boxes are a work of art)
     
  3. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    Hmm Pioneer media boxes are actually made by sharp arent that good either, however connecting the TU-PT600 disables all other video cards, so you have to have it and put up with it or Bin and do things properly............
     
  4. nak

    nak
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2004
    Messages:
    146
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Birmingham
    Ratings:
    +12
    If the Panny tuner is put into off mode and you resort to the original remote and change the input you will be able to use the other slot(s)
     
  5. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    Not exactly user friendly is it tho (doesn't tuner need to be OFF not in standby too)
     
  6. Baron Von Doom

    Baron Von Doom
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2005
    Messages:
    1,519
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    worthing
    Ratings:
    +135
    tuner needs to be off with switch on front not on standby
     
  7. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    thought so, not an ideal solution..........especially as PQ is crap...........Dump the tuner
     
  8. oanyego

    oanyego
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2005
    Messages:
    31
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hornydragon, thats my plan to do things properly...

    i just wanted to get a more in depth idea of the problems with the media box. A mate at richer sounds has offered to exchange media box, for the necessary alternatives plus a little cash. What would you recommend.

    I have the panasonic surround sound which is supplied as part of their all in deal with 37" pw7b
    and a pioneer dv 575 dvd, I want to add a decent freeview box to this plus the necessary inputs.

    Any pointers would be much appreciated.
     
  9. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    Component for DVD and a JS tech RGB to VGA for FV (Topfield PVR seems best of current crop)
     

Share This Page

Loading...