1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Tuner required ?

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs' started by bstonehouse, May 28, 2003.

  1. bstonehouse

    bstonehouse
    Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2003
    Messages:
    495
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +54
    I am about to purchase a new Panasonic 42" plasma with an AV Amplifier/Speakers (not sure which yet). My question concerns the need for a tuner. I currently have a SKY receiver which I am about to upgrade to SKY+ which I thought I could use to receive the digital TV channels, thus not needing the Plasma Tuner.
    All the dealers I visit say that I need the tuner to enhance the picture quality for the Plasma screen. Some have said that I could avoid the need for the tuner if I buy a high spec amplifier that will improve the picture to the Plasma. I am now totally confused - any advice ?
     
  2. Zef

    Zef
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2002
    Messages:
    221
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Hertfordshire
    Ratings:
    +9
    It depends on what the Plasma takes as its input. The people are saying get a tuner because I presume the tuner board has scart/s-vid/composite as well as bog standard RF. Getting this will give you options, but they are not neccasarily the best quality.

    If it takes 15pin VGA (without the tuner board) then you need a converter box to take the inputs from your sky/dvd etc to the plasma.

    The Amplifier will not give you any better quality as such, but it will give you switching capability to your plasma.

    A quick read on this forum will show you all the various ways in which people have connected all their toys to their panels..
     
  3. SherrifJWPepper

    SherrifJWPepper
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    The Panasonic tuner uses its own board which has just a dedicated input for the tuner only, it also disables the VGA input on the screen. I therefore assume that the tuner and screen are linked using VGA.

    The Pana tuner has 4 inputs

    1 - Full feaure scart - RGB, S-Video and Composite
    2 - Scart - S-Video and Composite
    3 - S-Video and Composite on the front
    3 - Component on the rear
    4 - Full feaure scart - RGB, S-Video and Composite

    The tuner is controlled from the plasma the PQ of the analogue tuner is not too good but its a good looking gadget for on your shelf :rolleyes: It comes with a 2M propriery interconnect with a 15M available if you need it
     
  4. bstonehouse

    bstonehouse
    Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2003
    Messages:
    495
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +54
    Thanks for the replies.

    I've decided on a Panny Plasma and a DENON 3803 receiver but I'm still not convinced about needing the Panny tuner. If I use SKY as a receiver it looks as though I am getting the tuner for is telextext.

    If I use the SKY reveiver for my TV channels how what connexions would I use between the SKY>3803>Plasma.

    Can anyone help.
     
  5. Dutch

    Dutch
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2002
    Messages:
    2,562
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    North Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +257
    Hi,

    To get the best picture quality from Sky's mediocre broadcasts, you need an RGB to component coverter such as those from www.rgbtosvideo.com This could be fed direct to the plasma (with correct video card fitted) or via the 3803 if you have another component video source such as a DVD player. Hope this helps.

    Steve
     
  6. bferbrache

    bferbrache
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2003
    Messages:
    1,782
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Leicester
    Ratings:
    +96
    I have connected my Sky box using a Keene electronics syncblaster cable with good results. This uses the VGA input of the Panasonic plasma. The DVD player is connected to the component input of the screen. The drawback is that you cant use your Denon's video switching abilities
     

Share This Page

Loading...