1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

tube replacement

Discussion in 'Projectors, Screens & Video Processors' started by squid, Sep 9, 2001.

  1. squid

    squid
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2001
    Messages:
    546
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Location:
    the big uk
    Ratings:
    +0
    hi guys . anyone out there know where i can get a new blue tube for my electrohome ecp 4500?

    what sort of a price would it cost and is it easy to change one?

    i have recently moved the projector closer to the screen to get a brighter image and am now left with blue bars down the side of the pic

    it's not to bad just yet but is there a place in the uk where i can get one . the tube modle is 07MS(B)

    what's the best way to minimise the ware patern . i have heard of people doing a controled burn . what's the best way to go about this

    thanks <br />simon
     
  2. Gordon @ Convergent AV

    Gordon @ Convergent AV
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    13,982
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Living in Surrey, covering UK!
    Ratings:
    +2,786
    Simon,

    Can you explain more about these blue bars... If the blue tube was shagged then I wouldn't expect you to be seeing blue at all..

    Do you have any pictures of what you are seeing on the screen?

    Gordon
     
  3. squid

    squid
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2001
    Messages:
    546
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Location:
    the big uk
    Ratings:
    +0
    the pic just has more blue in it in two strips down the right and left .

    the pic was ok befor i moved the projector closer . i just wanted the extra brightness from using more of the tube face plus i had a prob getting good focus that now seems a lot better . also i now have the pc runing in 1024x768 befor had a bad pic at over 800x600.

    i think the blue tube just has some ware on it . i looked through the lense when i got the projector and the tubes seemed fine .

    everything else seems fine (now that i finaly have it conected to be HCPC and am not using the video board)

    everything is just bluer than blue in two stips down the sides . it just looks like a 4:3 ware patern .

    sorry ar present i have no way of posting a pic of it but apart from this the pic now looks fab. i have a better pic than anyone i know anyway and that includes landlords that are suposed to have had there sysems set up by a profesional

    i would'nt go so far as to say the tube has had it . i just need to know the best way to go about equizing the ware so it is less notisable for now

    it would be nice to know if where and how much i can get a tube for . i will need one in the future so the info is nice to have

    thanks gordon anyway for responding<br />simon

    ps<br />are there any sites out there that takle the subject of minimising the look of tube ware or giving a detailed description of how to change a tube
     
  4. Gordon @ Convergent AV

    Gordon @ Convergent AV
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    13,982
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Living in Surrey, covering UK!
    Ratings:
    +2,786
    Simon:

    If you have a 4:3 shaped image with blue bars on the sides then the blue has MORE output than red and green. This would suggest the problem is with RED and GREEN tubes being shagged.

    It sounds very strange though. This is what I suggest you do first.

    Turn it all off and remove the lens assemblies. This should be very simple. 4 SCREWS or bolts. One in each corner. Hold on tight when taking out the last screw/bolt as these lenses are heavy. Once removed be acareful not to scratch them. Clean the tube face with a lint free cloth or such like from a camera shop. Now look for wear. If it's there it'll be obvious.

    Let us know how you get on.

    Tubes can be bought s/h from folk like Curt Palme in Vancouver. You'll get his email from AVSforums. Christie Digital in the UK should be able to supply a new tube as well. I'd guess between £500 and £1000 in this country.

    Gordon
     
  5. Paul D

    Paul D
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2000
    Messages:
    2,620
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Manchester
    Ratings:
    +391
    Gordon. I wonder if what he means, because not all the "full face" of the blue tube WAS being driven. ie just a small square in the middle. <br />Now he is using the full face, the blue is duller in the middle of the picture making the blue brighter at the edges etc. Normally you just turn down the blue but this would make the middle of the picture have less blue.<br />If i'm wrong, just ignore this post(it's the beer you know!). <img src="graemlins/evil.gif" border="0" alt="[Evil]" />
     
  6. squid

    squid
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2001
    Messages:
    546
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Location:
    the big uk
    Ratings:
    +0
    can't get the lense off . stupid screwdriver not long enough .

    i have done a very close inspection through the lenses with a torch though and i can just about make out that there is a slightly browninsh ting in the midle of the blue

    if you look in to the blue when the pj is on with a plain blue background you can see the sides of the image are more blue than the rest .

    i don't think there is anything at all wrong with the green and red . with the blue tube turned off the pic looks fine (apart from the lack of blue that is)

    i think it is defenatly a blue tube ware problem . what makes me think this more is that the blueish bars have a pervectly defined edje to them and it tilts slightly in to the bottom as though the keystone is now diferent from it's last install

    what i don't understand is why i don't have the problem at the top and bottom . the only thing that would acount for that is if they where projecting on a perfecty square screen . the projector only had video boards in it though and no data card when i got it . so i don't know what they where doing with it . what a wast though to have a data grade pj and just feed it s-video
     
  7. Roland @ B4

    Roland @ B4
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2001
    Messages:
    2,238
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Reading.
    Ratings:
    +32
    I hold with the others this is a worn blue tube issue.

    These are software packages around designed to burn the previously unused phospher that you have down the sides but they are not effective unless you really know what you are doing.

    Send me a Email if you want a copy. But be warned this is designed to wear the phosphor quickly.

    Check your projection distance. I'm concerned that if these were not apparent before and the previous install was done properly then your PJ may now be too close. Turn the brightness down and look down the tube to make sure that you are not heating up the edges of the seal.

    Blue tube burn is almost always due to power point type presentations with blue backgrounds, very rarly is it the first colour to go in a video only application.

    I'm looking at a couple of old E'homes this/next week. I'll let you know if they are 4500.

    Word of warning about fitting and messing with CRT tubes. Circa 35,000 volts and a strong vacuum make this tricky to replace to say the least. Just scratching the glass can make them implode!
     
  8. squid

    squid
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2001
    Messages:
    546
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Location:
    the big uk
    Ratings:
    +0
    hi Roland

    the pj is 111 inch from a 77 inch wide screen . i do know that this is a few inches closer than is recomended .

    the problem is that at the corect dist i could'nt quite get it in focus . i had it at the dist recomended by the dist calc . pluss i was reading over at avs that at higher resolutions the disc cal was not very acuarat anyway .

    i did make sure that the image is still well away from the tube edge . there still seems to be some room .

    as for the projector being set up corrctly . i can only asume that the person that set it up befor was blind .

    when i first go the pj i put an image through it and found that both red and blue had been toed in diferently . the red lense was neerly touching the green and the blue was nearly traight . even with the pj set further away i could not do the toe in ajustments right . when it was toed in corectly after a full reset i would still get the extra blue down the right . becouse of the past bad setup the blue ware is not centered on the tube but more on one side . the G2 setting were way off so there was no detail in the pic . i am just glad it did have no data card in it or i'm sure the tubes may have been a lot worse

    i don't think the ware is to bad realy i'm just a bit of a perfectionist realy so the slightest fault realy bothers me . it's mainly when there is a lot of white on the screen it is most notisable or blue backgrounds like the fbi warnings at the start of films ect

    if you could send me the prog it would be much apreciated

    thanks <br />simon

    thegreataturn@yahoo.co.uk
     
  9. Gordon @ Convergent AV

    Gordon @ Convergent AV
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    13,982
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Living in Surrey, covering UK!
    Ratings:
    +2,786
    I've been thinking about this all day and you are all right of course. It is going ot be the unused part of the blue tube sticking out more light.

    Sorry

    Gordon
     
  10. squid

    squid
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2001
    Messages:
    546
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Location:
    the big uk
    Ratings:
    +0
    it's ok gordon .

    we all have are off days <img src="rolleyes.gif" border="0">
     
  11. Roland @ B4

    Roland @ B4
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2001
    Messages:
    2,238
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Reading.
    Ratings:
    +32
     
  12. squid

    squid
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2001
    Messages:
    546
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Location:
    the big uk
    Ratings:
    +0
    thanks roland

    i have been thinking . maybe the reson the blue has worn is that the blue signal was turned up too high . when i got the pj the grayscale seemed a bit blue as it was . if the pj has allways been at those levels then the pic must have been way too blue

    they may have been over driving the blue to get a brighter pic . don't know how they could have watched it though

    thanks <br />simon

    ps

    i did'nt see the installer but i think you could be right . that may have somthing to do with the bad toe in job . i would imagine it would be a bit dificult with the hook and all <img src="biggrin.gif" border="0"> <img src="biggrin.gif" border="0">

    <br />forgot to ask . what's the best way of going about douing this contoled burn .

    turn the contrast up full and runing it a short time or leaving contrast and birghtness at it's normal level and doing it for a long time

    i was thinking of turning up the contrast a bit but not too much and letting it run for a night then checking . if it needs more to leave it another night

    how dos this sound? have you a better sugestion?

    of course i will turn the other two tubes off at the focus board first (don't want to inadvertantly burn those two babys)

    [ 10-09-2001: Message edited by: squid ]</p>
     
  13. Roland @ B4

    Roland @ B4
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2001
    Messages:
    2,238
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Reading.
    Ratings:
    +32
    YES try each day.<br />Never B4 have I been asked to burn a customers tubes.

    Rather than turn the other signals down I would just pull the Red and green wires from the input.

    Good luck
     
  14. larsan

    larsan
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    There is a program called burnrelief.<br />Do a search on AVS Forum, <a href="http://www.avsforum.com" target="_blank">http://www.avsforum.com</a> to find it. Try the HTPC section if not successful.

    This program will let you position bars in blue, red or green (or any combo of them) on the top/bottom/left/right side of the image. Could not be simpler...

    Hope it helps!

    /David
     
  15. squid

    squid
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2001
    Messages:
    546
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Location:
    the big uk
    Ratings:
    +0
    hi david . roland has already sent me a copy . thanks anyway though .

    as for the red and green . i usualy turn them off when i want them off at the focus board . i supose unpluging the bncs dose the same job.

    as with most things im gona wait till i get the screen wall finished and and the screen up permenently first . just need to get some dosh next week to get the needed wood and stuff then i can get the cinema finished .

    you never know i might even see if i can get a lend of a didgital camera and get some pic posted then <img src="biggrin.gif" border="0">
     

Share This Page

Loading...