trying to record from less than perfect vcr tape

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by mick23, Sep 26, 2005.

  1. mick23

    mick23
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2002
    Messages:
    801
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    uk
    Ratings:
    +2
    hello all i have copied most of my vcr tapes to dvd rw with out problems,but one vcr tape gives good quality if vcr is connected directly to tv.

    however with my tatung dvd recorder i get the on screen message using one touch record picture/signal not stable and the dvd recorder will pause, this stops me being able to copy this particular vcr tape, any suggestions on how i can copy this particular tape to dvd .

    i have copied the tape to another vcr and tried to copy but the problem still persists.

    thank you
     
  2. MartinImber

    MartinImber
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2001
    Messages:
    3,851
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Worcester
    Ratings:
    +21
    Do you have any friends with a Beta VCR?

    They will record anything as they generate their own sync pulses.

    I think even PC capturing would struggle.
     
  3. mick23

    mick23
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2002
    Messages:
    801
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    uk
    Ratings:
    +2
    thanks martin i do not know anyone with beta vcr,

    i have only tried recording using one touch record from vcr tapes, i will try a timer recording and see if that works,or possible try rf lead from vcr and manually tune the recorder to the picture, worth a try.

    in the past recording a tape from one vcr to another never had any problems,

    thank you
     
  4. MartinImber

    MartinImber
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2001
    Messages:
    3,851
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Worcester
    Ratings:
    +21
    Ask around on the forum - eg I am in Worcester and I have a few - and I have NEVER had problems getting Beta onto the computer
     
  5. Bal2005

    Bal2005
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2005
    Messages:
    170
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +3
    Have you got a TV with two scarts?

    If you have , play the VCR in through Ext1 and then connect the other ext2 to the DVD Recorder and see if you can record that way.

    Thanks
     
  6. Puffer

    Puffer
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2005
    Messages:
    109
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    You really need a VCR which has a time base corrector to

    re-sync the signal . The more expensive sets usually have

    it on their spec.
     
  7. mick23

    mick23
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2002
    Messages:
    801
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    uk
    Ratings:
    +2
    thanks all for replies, tried rf lead and tuned dvd to vcr signal, timer recording vs otr, all with no joy.

    the vcr tape is well used and was rather tightly wound in its cassette, the more i tried to record it .the quality got worse.

    in the end i just discarded the vcr tape and gave up trying to record it.

    thanks all
     
  8. MartinImber

    MartinImber
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2001
    Messages:
    3,851
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Worcester
    Ratings:
    +21
    Similar to how Beta decks work
     
  9. TobyW

    TobyW
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2005
    Messages:
    157
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Australia
    Ratings:
    +3
    Before you threw the tape away, it's a pity you didn't try it on a Panasonic recorder or a PC. I find my Panny E85's time base corrector can handle the double dose of jitter on a VHS tape that was dubbed from a Beta tape. My PC's BT848-based capture card also handles it. (Toshiba XS32 couldn't handle it though.)
     

Share This Page

Loading...