1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

trying to get Netgear WG511 to dhcp to my router?

Discussion in 'General Video Gaming Chat' started by chillo, Dec 24, 2004.

  1. chillo

    chillo
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2004
    Messages:
    727
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Northern Monkey!
    Ratings:
    +24
    Help,

    rebuilt my laptop today with xp sp2 and i cant get my netgear pcmcia card to dhcp the right i.p. address!
    the router is netgear dg834g

    it should pick up 192.168.0.# (# = anything between 2-255?)

    instead i get 169.254.175.110!! what the fudge??

    help? i have tried putting it in as static i.p. address but that won't work for some reason?! :lease:
     
  2. buzlightyear

    buzlightyear
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2002
    Messages:
    945
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +116
    The 169 IP address is a generic one that windows gives out when it cannot find a dhcp server. The Netgear card is not seeing your router correctly Is that model a wireless one or hard wired?. If its wireless have you turned on encryption etc on the router make sure you typed excatly the same security settings on the network adaptor as on the router? If hard wired check drivers of the network card maybe try another ethernet cable. Merry Christmas
     
  3. chillo

    chillo
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2004
    Messages:
    727
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Northern Monkey!
    Ratings:
    +24
    Sorted! thanks for the help! yehaaar!!
    turned off encryption and the re-enabled it and all ok! must have typo'd the wep key!
    doh!
    thanks Buz!
     
  4. Kazman

    Kazman
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2004
    Messages:
    5,252
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Luton, Bedfordshire
    Ratings:
    +136
    Let me know how it performs mate, the netgear has a good rep. I just bought the Belkin, and it has been great so far. My brother might get a wireless bridge for his xbox soon, so deciding what to recommend.
     
  5. chillo

    chillo
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2004
    Messages:
    727
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Northern Monkey!
    Ratings:
    +24
    well the wg511 card in my laptop is great, i have a buffalo g54 wireless bridge for hooking up to xbox live which i haven't been able to get working as yet
     
  6. Kazman

    Kazman
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2004
    Messages:
    5,252
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Luton, Bedfordshire
    Ratings:
    +136
    I gave up with the Buffalo wireless bridge I bought, couldn't get it to work, the Belkin worked almost straight out of the box!! :eek:
     

Share This Page

Loading...