*Trying to change to Freesat from Sky: tech advice appreciated*

Discussion in 'Sky Digital TV Forum' started by russellsprout, Jun 10, 2015.

  1. russellsprout

    russellsprout
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2006
    Messages:
    87
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Ratings:
    +7
    We've been with Sky for five years and our Sky+ box is failing fast. A bit like me. Mr Murdoch has also emptied our bank account. We're therefore about to tell Sky that we're leaving, and that we're going to watch Freesat instead, because our TV is a Sony KDL 37VB58, which has Freesat (not Freeview) built-in. But. . . A problem:

    The back of this TV set has a single connector post onto which is to be screwed a single cable from a satellite dish. But when a Sky engineer installed our dish and Sky+ box in 2010, he used a twin-ply cable, i.e., one that splits into two so as to connect to the two sockets on the back of the Sky+ box.

    Help appreciated then: how do we go about turning a twin-connector satellite cable to the Sky+ unit into a single connector satellite cable that can be screwed onto the post at the back of the Sony KDL-37V58??

    Mrs S seems to think that I ought to climb out the window to disconnect the existing cable from the dish and stick in a new one. I think she regrets not marrying an astronaut.
     
  2. Rodders53

    Rodders53
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2007
    Messages:
    5,308
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Bedford
    Ratings:
    +963
    You just connect one of the two F-plugs to the TV. The other can be left 'dangling' quite safely behind the set... It does not carry any signals... The receiver (Sky/freesat box or TV) supplies power to the LNB up each individual cable (albeit the two are physically joined) to operate the LNB and the LNB sends back the radio signals needed by the receiver to produce the pictures and sound.

    Now if you want to keep the Sky box or a freesat PVR fully working with two cables as well as having the TV freesat working, then the wife is correct and you need an extra cable from TV to the LNB.
     
  3. logiciel

    logiciel
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    53,163
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +5,789
    That's correct and very straightforward, though Sony's web site has never heard of the KDL 37VB58, the FS site says that only Pana and Samsung do FS sets, and I've never heard of any set with FS but not FV!
     
    Last edited: Jun 10, 2015
  4. grahamlthompson

    grahamlthompson
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    24,625
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Redditch
    Ratings:
    +4,208
    Sony did make some Freesat sets, but afaik they also had Freeview tuning as well. Certainly current Sony TV's only have generic free to air tuners.
     
  5. Rodders53

    Rodders53
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2007
    Messages:
    5,308
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Bedford
    Ratings:
    +963
    Last edited by a moderator: Jun 10, 2015
  6. russellsprout

    russellsprout
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2006
    Messages:
    87
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Ratings:
    +7
    Hi gang. First off, many thanks for the input about, um, inputs. Second of all, mea culpa for confusion due to me screwing up the TV's name in my haste for enlightenment about screwing up connectors. There is, indeed, no such model as quoted by me, so there ya go, today's challenge: solve a problem in a non-existent telly, just what everyone likes to do when it's summer and the sun's shining outside. Doh. In truth, our TV, purchased in April 2010 and still going strong, is the one mentioned in this link:

    Sony BRAVIA KDL-37V5810U | 37" Full HD LCD freesat TV

    Because yes, it is the Sony Bravia KDL-37V5810. There is no 'B' in the name. Sony says it keeps the Operating Instructions manual on the web but the paper copy we have and the pdf Sony has aren't the same, not helped by the two pdf web manuals omitting all the set-up / connecting pages. However, here:

    Sony Support

    the document states:


    Analogue Terrestrial Tuner

    YES

    Digital Terrestrial Tuner (MPEG-2)

    YES

    Digital TV Cable Tuner (with supported operators)

    YES

    CI+ Ready (with supported operators)

    YES

    DVB-S2 Satellite TV Tuner (with supported operators)

    YES


    . . . so maybe there is a Freeview tuner in there as well?? Apologies for being so untechie here but the last time I had much to do with tuners was trying to mend a Roberts in 1955 when my mother couldn't get Mrs Dale's Diary (a reference no doubt beyond everyone's comprehension on here, and with very good reason.)

    Anyway. I'll follow Rodders' suggestion and see what happens; as to Freeview, perhaps logiciel and Graham might recognise something-or-other in those Sony online specs???

    Thanks again, and apologies again, for muddling up the model name. It's hard when you're 103.
     
  7. russellsprout

    russellsprout
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2006
    Messages:
    87
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Ratings:
    +7
    Rodders: you're a Genius. I've just finished posting my apologia only to discover you've already been on and it seems you found the same thing we did -- but we never saw any mention of Freeview in the pdf text?? And as noted, unfortunately the content and paging of the thing on the Sony Support site doesn't seem to be the same as the 26-page A4 portrait size Operating Manual that we have which came with the TV. Mystery?? But BIG thanks again for flying in to help.
     
  8. logiciel

    logiciel
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    53,163
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +5,789
    Digital Terrestrial is the one that will get you the channels with an aerial.
    Satellite is the one that will get you the channels with a dish.
    What a difference one letter makes!
    And you're very sprightly for 103!
     
  9. grahamlthompson

    grahamlthompson
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    24,625
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Redditch
    Ratings:
    +4,208
    The only comment is that the DVB-T terrestrial tuner won't give you the UK HD channels only the SD ones. The DVB-S2 Freesat tuner should however deliver the HD free satellite channels.
     
  10. russellsprout

    russellsprout
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2006
    Messages:
    87
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Ratings:
    +7
    Sorry to be a bit late with a reply here! MANY thanks for all the help and advice and, above all, the explanations given: it's so-oo helpful when folks-who-know are so willing to share their knowledge with folks-who-don't. The further reassurances from logiciel and Graham have removed any last possible cause of confusion, so everything's sorted. I can't thank you all enough, nor can Mrs S. Drinks all round! (PS: oh all right. Not 103. It's just that when talking about wires and cables and connectors and the rest of it, I feel older than my 102 years. Er, well. Never mind!)
     
  11. Faust

    Faust
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2002
    Messages:
    3,526
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +763
    Ah! Mrs Dale's Diary, now that is a blast from the past. I remember from my pre-telly days (yes folks there was such a time) my mother (bless her) never missed an episode. I have gone all misty eyed now - anyone for 'workers playtime'?
     
  12. TJT1

    TJT1
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2011
    Messages:
    4,831
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    East Sussex, UK
    Ratings:
    +1,141
    Or Dick Barton - Special Agent on radio Luxembourg
     
  13. logiciel

    logiciel
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    53,163
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +5,789
    Actually on BBC radio.
     
  14. TJT1

    TJT1
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2011
    Messages:
    4,831
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    East Sussex, UK
    Ratings:
    +1,141
    Lucky I'm old enough to be allowed forget the fine detail then.:D
     
  15. Vin Blanc

    Vin Blanc
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2011
    Messages:
    371
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    New Milton, Hants
    Ratings:
    +57
    Sorry, too busy listening to Valentine Dyall as "The man in black" - Scary!

    Or Tommy Handley of course!

    Vin Blanc
     
  16. Faust

    Faust
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2002
    Messages:
    3,526
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +763
    I think I will get my old Eagle annual down from the loft and frighten myself to death all over again reading Dan Dare and the Mekon! :eek:
     
  17. Vin Blanc

    Vin Blanc
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2011
    Messages:
    371
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    New Milton, Hants
    Ratings:
    +57
    Far too modern, we're all talking second world war here, not the 50's :lesson:

    Vin Blanc
     
  18. Faust

    Faust
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2002
    Messages:
    3,526
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +763
    Well there's old and then there are fossils? :rotfl:
     

Share This Page

Loading...