1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

TRV33 + Using USA-bought cam

Discussion in 'Camcorders, Action Cams & Video Editing Forum' started by AndyRH, Feb 6, 2004.

1. AndyRH

AndyRH

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi I am a bit of a novice when it comes to camcorders so can anybody out there help me with these questions:

1) I'm looking to buy a Sony TRV33 soon, other posters recommend it. But how much should I expect to have to spend on battery, cables, tapes etc? As a leisure user

2) Will the TRV33 be rendered obselete when Sony's new HC cams are introduced in April?

3) I have a friend in the US who reckons camcorders are much cheaper over there. He suggested buying it for me and Fed-Exing it to the UK. Are there compatibility issues with US batteries or power supplies?

I've heard that continual use of a USA adaptor can deplete batteries. Is this true? And finally (stay with me) does anyone know what sort of import duty I'd have to pay on a camera imported from the US?

Thanks to anyone who can help!!
    Cheers AH

2. MarkE19

MarkE19

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +2,389
    Hi AndyRH and welcome to the forum!

All your questions have been asked recently on here and all the answers should be easily available via a search (button on top right of screen).

1) Tapes, battery, case should cost you around £100. Cheap tapes can be bought from www.7dayshop.co.uk or www.pricebusters.org.uk (but watch the delivery charges!). Cost of battery depends on wheather you go for a Sony or compatable. You will also need a good case to protect it while carrying around as it will not be supplied. What cables do you want? Standard AV & USB cables should be supplied but firewire will not.