Trinnov Audio Altitude16 AV Processor Review & Comments

Discussion in 'AV Pre-Amp/Processors & Power Amps' started by Phil Hinton, Jul 10, 2018.


    1. boabis

      boabis
      Active Member

      Joined:
      Oct 14, 2015
      Messages:
      79
      Products Owned:
      1
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      36
      Location:
      Edinburgh
      Ratings:
      +130
    2. jamieu

      jamieu
      Active Member

      Joined:
      Jul 3, 2010
      Messages:
      111
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      31
      Location:
      London
      Ratings:
      +39
      Would Sir like them wrapped up to go, or are you planning to use them immediately? ;-)
       
    3. richardsim7

      richardsim7
      Well-known Member

      Joined:
      Nov 19, 2014
      Messages:
      2,296
      Products Owned:
      2
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      116
      Location:
      London
      Ratings:
      +1,657
      Love Actually (5/10) Movie CLIP - Would You...
       
    4. Seriously Ltd

      Seriously Ltd
      Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

      Joined:
      May 17, 2011
      Messages:
      7,531
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      166
      Location:
      St Albans
      Ratings:
      +3,981
      They are all fantastic and you won’t go wrong with any of them.
       
    5. richardsim7

      richardsim7
      Well-known Member

      Joined:
      Nov 19, 2014
      Messages:
      2,296
      Products Owned:
      2
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      116
      Location:
      London
      Ratings:
      +1,657
      Well put, Mr Switzerland :p
       
      • Like Like x 1
      • Funny Funny x 1
      • List
    6. linnasak

      linnasak
      Active Member

      Joined:
      Sep 13, 2007
      Messages:
      219
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      31
      Location:
      Scotland
      Ratings:
      +53
      Am I right thinking that the 2nd hdmi out will not feed 4K hdr to say a 4K projector as it is only 1.4 compatible?

      If so why on something of this level are not both outputs at least 2.0 compatible?

      Kevin
       
    7. Steve Stifler

      Steve Stifler
      Well-known Member

      Joined:
      Oct 22, 2001
      Messages:
      1,903
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      116
      Location:
      Leatherhead
      Ratings:
      +934
      I would agree IMHO the Lyngdorf MP-50 should be included as an alternative. No I don't own one, but I have had an extended demonstration in what I would describe as a hybrid set up, and it was absolutely excellent. It went very very well with MK Sound 300 series speakers.
       
    8. Killak

      Killak
      Active Member

      Joined:
      Nov 27, 2015
      Messages:
      327
      Products Owned:
      1
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      31
      Location:
      London
      Ratings:
      +31
      Anyone know the lifespan of a machine like this? Will it be outdated in a couple of years as new technology comes out?
       
    9. Tianzo

      Tianzo
      Standard Member

      Joined:
      Jul 3, 2018
      Messages:
      10
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      3
      Location:
      USA
      Ratings:
      +3
      Trinnov/Lyngdorf/Datasat etc high end systems have a much higher shelf life as compared to lower end system as your paying for the Latest tech such as more channels, newer formats, in house Decoders and Dacs and most provide firmware upgrades to keep systems fresh. The next big upgrade that may make these system obselete is 8K and that could be changed with a board upgrade
       
    10. Goodmane

      Goodmane
      Active Member

      Joined:
      May 26, 2011
      Messages:
      205
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      1
      Trophy Points:
      46
      Location:
      Manchester
      Ratings:
      +103
      That was my first thought also. I could stomach some of the inputs not being 4k/hdr/60 compatible, but not really the outputs. It is the one standout feature that really puts me off wanting this, even a few years down the road in the used market. The second output is a great backup to hdmi port damage, even if you're not planning on putting a TV or second projector in your dedicated room.

      Incidentally, does this thing even have a network control app to change inputs / volume? Auto-off? I would probably miss those too if not.

      It would be great to have front wides or 6 ceiling speakers, but there's a much cheaper Denon for that, isn't there? I don't aspire to this as a hobbyist. But I can see it being a great solution for people who can afford it and are buying through a dealer / installer. I'd love to hear one some day.
       
    11. themovierooms

      themovierooms
      Well-known Member AVForums Sponsor

      Joined:
      Aug 6, 2013
      Messages:
      888
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      97
      Location:
      Edinburgh
      Ratings:
      +635
      Nice to see this get a proper review. The technology and flexibility these units carry for large multi channel projects is unparalleled at the moment. From a technical standpoint it actually has very few peers right now.
       
    12. themovierooms

      themovierooms
      Well-known Member AVForums Sponsor

      Joined:
      Aug 6, 2013
      Messages:
      888
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      97
      Location:
      Edinburgh
      Ratings:
      +635
      It also has different processing in this as well, the Altitude 32 is still a step above sonically on big systems.
       
    13. Killak

      Killak
      Active Member

      Joined:
      Nov 27, 2015
      Messages:
      327
      Products Owned:
      1
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      31
      Location:
      London
      Ratings:
      +31
      Glad to hear they give continued firmware updates. I'll start saving up!
       
    14. Wookii

      Wookii
      Active Member

      Joined:
      Mar 19, 2007
      Messages:
      1,130
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      66
      Location:
      Nottingham
      Ratings:
      +236
      One of the critical advantages the Trinnov units have is they are completely software upgradeable, whereas other solutions are hardware DSP dependent. So with future codecs changes, for example, in the Altitude this can be implemented simply by a software update, where as in other processors its likely a complete hardware board would have to be changed, if indeed it could be upgraded at all.
       
    15. linnasak

      linnasak
      Active Member

      Joined:
      Sep 13, 2007
      Messages:
      219
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      31
      Location:
      Scotland
      Ratings:
      +53
      Hi

      Noted that that the meridian video processor uhd722 has only got 1x 1.4 and 1x 2.0, suggestion on the meridian unplugged thread is that it is because it uses a std bought in board, would be interesting to know if same cause on trinnov.

      Kevin
       
    16. Wookii

      Wookii
      Active Member

      Joined:
      Mar 19, 2007
      Messages:
      1,130
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      66
      Location:
      Nottingham
      Ratings:
      +236
      Yes, pretty much all higher end processor manufacturers use the same identical OEM HDMI boards from MDS:

      HDMI / Video « Momentum Data Systems
       
    17. MadScientist

      MadScientist
      Active Member

      Joined:
      Apr 30, 2006
      Messages:
      755
      Products Owned:
      1
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      46
      Ratings:
      +102
      If I were in the market for an Altitude 16, a question I would ask is the potential for HDMI hardware upgradability. Trinnov have stated that this model is not upgradable (link below) and limited to 16 channels but does this also apply to HDMI board upgrades?

      Trinnov Altitude 16 и 48-канальный апгрейд...
       
    18. SonOfSJ

      SonOfSJ
      Well-known Member

      Joined:
      Jul 8, 2012
      Messages:
      2,020
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      116
      Location:
      Edinburgh
      Ratings:
      +962
      Ha-ha, and who would have a telly in the kitchen, huh?? :)
       
    19. SonOfSJ

      SonOfSJ
      Well-known Member

      Joined:
      Jul 8, 2012
      Messages:
      2,020
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      116
      Location:
      Edinburgh
      Ratings:
      +962
      In the outgoing (July 2018, number 287) issue (which may still be available on newsagents' shelves) of Home Cinema Choice printed magazine, there is a five-page review of the Trinnov by the very same Mr Steve Withers. He awards the processor "Reference status".
       
    20. sdrucker

      sdrucker
      Standard Member

      Joined:
      Mar 27, 2016
      Messages:
      26
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      6
      Location:
      Chicago USA
      Ratings:
      +15
      Not just that - in theory, pretty much everything is upgradable on the hardware side, from buffer boards to a mother board with CPU and memory. The question is the cost, the parts to be used which meet Trinnov's standards in a uniform way, quality control, the labour involved (I'm writing on a UK forum, so I'll use your spelling LOL) to do so, and who does it. The Altitude is ultimately a PC running a dedicated version of Linux, after all.

      However, even if there were some sort of central repair/upgrade facility, the logistics would not be simple, since it would require dealer support, distribution/shipping (where, probably France), and the inconvenience to customers of having their Altitude out of commission while a hardware update is done.

      On the other hand, a CPU/software architecture is powerful enough relative to the DSP-based competition today that other than maybe a memory or cache upgrade, it would be difficult to see just how much an Altitude might actually have any need to be upgraded beyond HDMI, support for digital output, and number of I/O channels.
       
    21. themovierooms

      themovierooms
      Well-known Member AVForums Sponsor

      Joined:
      Aug 6, 2013
      Messages:
      888
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      97
      Location:
      Edinburgh
      Ratings:
      +635
      To call it a PC is too simplistic, it really isn't. Everything is made an manufactured by Trinnov in France, the only parts which arent are the HDMI board's which are made by MDS like every other.

      I can do most upgrades on site and prefer to do that where possible, most upgrades are a reasonably simple affair if you can use a screwdriver and have a reasonably steady hand.
       
    22. Mister_Tad

      Mister_Tad
      Active Member

      Joined:
      Jan 16, 2008
      Messages:
      277
      Products Owned:
      3
      Products Wanted:
      1
      Trophy Points:
      46
      Location:
      Nottingham
      Ratings:
      +136
      Including the motherboard? It would surprise me if they didn't take something off the shelf and then bolt onto it with with things of their own making.

      I'd love to see a guts-pic of one of these. Google isn't giving up the goods. I found one of the ST2 and that seems to use an MSI J1800i motherboard.

      EDIT: And then found another one of the same unit with a Gigabyte board!
       
      Last edited: Jul 13, 2018 at 9:43 AM
    23. themovierooms

      themovierooms
      Well-known Member AVForums Sponsor

      Joined:
      Aug 6, 2013
      Messages:
      888
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      97
      Location:
      Edinburgh
      Ratings:
      +635
      I dont know about that im afraid, I was replying to the comment "The question is the cost, the parts to be used which meet Trinnov's standards in a uniform way, quality control, the labour involved".

      I did an upgrade on the Altitude 32 thread and there are photos of the procedure.
       
      Last edited: Jul 13, 2018 at 9:47 AM
    24. themovierooms

      themovierooms
      Well-known Member AVForums Sponsor

      Joined:
      Aug 6, 2013
      Messages:
      888
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      97
      Location:
      Edinburgh
      Ratings:
      +635
      You can upgrade the HDMI board on a 16 but that is the only part.
       
    25. MadScientist

      MadScientist
      Active Member

      Joined:
      Apr 30, 2006
      Messages:
      755
      Products Owned:
      1
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      46
      Ratings:
      +102
      That's good news. Probably the only hardware upgrade you would need for people who don't require more than 16 audio channels
       
    26. themovierooms

      themovierooms
      Well-known Member AVForums Sponsor

      Joined:
      Aug 6, 2013
      Messages:
      888
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      97
      Location:
      Edinburgh
      Ratings:
      +635
      I think that is why they did it. It makes sense as it makes the product relevant for a good few years with a reasonably simple board swap and firmware flash.
       
    27. linnasak

      linnasak
      Active Member

      Joined:
      Sep 13, 2007
      Messages:
      219
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      31
      Location:
      Scotland
      Ratings:
      +53
      So if the hdmi board can be changed do you know why the default output is 1.4 and 2.0? How would you configure trinnov if say you want to outputput to a 4K projector and 4K tv?

      Do you use a particular splitter like a hdfury integral or something higher?

      Kevin
       
    28. themovierooms

      themovierooms
      Well-known Member AVForums Sponsor

      Joined:
      Aug 6, 2013
      Messages:
      888
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      97
      Location:
      Edinburgh
      Ratings:
      +635
      Why they use that board in particular is a bit above my pay grade, but essentially you are correct. To be fair most people use a Lumagen with these so the video goes nowhere near the Trinnov which obviously negates the issue. HD Fury would be the cheap way to do it though.
       
      Last edited: Jul 13, 2018 at 2:22 PM
    29. J P

      J P
      Standard Member

      Joined:
      Aug 21, 2013
      Messages:
      5
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      3
      Ratings:
      +3
      Hi Steve Withers, great review. The remapping of how a speaker is actually placed is interesting. I don't know how your test setup is exactly. But if you have your center speaker under or over the screen, did you try to re-map the center so its more in position(same hight) with the mains ?
       

    Share This Page

    Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice