Dismiss Notice
Attention AVForums app / Tapatalk users
Sadly GDPR means that, from 25th, we can no longer offer access to AVForums via the branded app or Tapatalk.
Click here for more information.

Transportation of Plasma's

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs Forum' started by Gezmondo, Dec 3, 2004.

  1. Gezmondo

    Gezmondo
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2004
    Messages:
    359
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Harrogate
    Ratings:
    +2
    Is it correct that Plasma monitors have to be transported upright???

    Any feedback appreciated as picking one up sunday.

    Gez :lease:
     
  2. Laura

    Laura
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2002
    Messages:
    397
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Newcastle Upon Tyne
    Ratings:
    +24
    It's certainly what it says on the box.
     
  3. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,346
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,218
    correct they should only be transproted vertical and properly packaged
     
  4. Gezmondo

    Gezmondo
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2004
    Messages:
    359
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Harrogate
    Ratings:
    +2
    Oh, Thats inconvenient!!!

    Will have to measure car up for "behind seat ".

    Properly packed??.Only a 90 minute journey......

    Gez. :rolleyes:
     
  5. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,346
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,218
    90 minute is long enough............. why no original box? hope you have a largeish car....
     
  6. Laura

    Laura
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2002
    Messages:
    397
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Newcastle Upon Tyne
    Ratings:
    +24
    what size screen is it?

    the box for a 50" panasonic is 132cm (L) x 83cm (H) x 32cm (W)
     
  7. Chuey

    Chuey
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2004
    Messages:
    24
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Should a small van that is similar size to an estate be large enough to hold a Pioneer 43" in original packaging upright?

    Do you know of any courier that will courier a plasma to a home address? TNT only delivers to business addresses and InterLink does not cater for plasmas.

    Thanks.
     
  8. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,346
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,218
    a vauxhall combo Tranny coonect is large enough an Astravan/Escort probably not tall enough Hitachi 42" in Original box wont fit in an Astra Estate i know i tried...........
    Kay O'neil do home addy but not sure if they will do a one off... DHL? couriering plasma is avery risky business most suppliers use specialist contractors take insurance to RRP value and get fragile upright only all over the box.... AV_sales use Kay oneill (not sure on spelling) JOE @ TMF uses his own van Nationwide...
     
  9. Chuey

    Chuey
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2004
    Messages:
    24
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I think it's a safe bet to hire a transit. However, do they have bars on the inside so that there are ways to tie the plasma against one of the sides to keep it upright? Only recently, I did a DIY house move and hired 2 different long wheel base transits on 2 ocassions but neither had ways of tying things to the sides. Any advise?
     
  10. Gezmondo

    Gezmondo
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2004
    Messages:
    359
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Harrogate
    Ratings:
    +2
    Oh this is depressing!

    could get a discovery i suppose as i only have a 3 door golf :mad:
     
  11. happyh

    happyh
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2004
    Messages:
    309
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Northants Riviera
    Ratings:
    +2
    Is this not recommended then?

    http://www.avforums.com/forums/attachment.php?attachmentid=8214[/url]
     
  12. happyh

    happyh
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2004
    Messages:
    309
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Northants Riviera
    Ratings:
    +2
  13. jasonx32

    jasonx32
    Banned

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Messages:
    279
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Ratings:
    +0
    do the words "accident waiting to happen" spring to mind????
     
  14. Gezmondo

    Gezmondo
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2004
    Messages:
    359
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Harrogate
    Ratings:
    +2
    Crikey!

    Just gonna measure golf up for vertical option. :blush:
     
  15. happyh

    happyh
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2004
    Messages:
    309
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Northants Riviera
    Ratings:
    +2
    Gezmondo, are you buying a 42" screen?
    If so, if you take the plasma out of the box you might just get the golf in! :)
     
  16. Gezmondo

    Gezmondo
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2004
    Messages:
    359
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Harrogate
    Ratings:
    +2
    It's a 50" mate.....

    Will know shortly as going to make a wood template! :eek:
     
  17. Gezmondo

    Gezmondo
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2004
    Messages:
    359
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Harrogate
    Ratings:
    +2
    Only just fits!!!
     

    Attached Files:

  18. Laura

    Laura
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2002
    Messages:
    397
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Newcastle Upon Tyne
    Ratings:
    +24
    Is that just the screen fitting, or the whole box?
     
  19. happyh

    happyh
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2004
    Messages:
    309
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Northants Riviera
    Ratings:
    +2
    Good luck!
     
  20. Gezmondo

    Gezmondo
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2004
    Messages:
    359
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Harrogate
    Ratings:
    +2
    I'm buying secondhand Laura...No box anyway! :smashin:
     
  21. Laura

    Laura
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2002
    Messages:
    397
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Newcastle Upon Tyne
    Ratings:
    +24
    well good luck. :)
     
  22. Gezmondo

    Gezmondo
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2004
    Messages:
    359
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Harrogate
    Ratings:
    +2
    I thank you! :smoke:
     
  23. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,346
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,218
    take a double duvet to protect screen and some packing to stop it moving around mate.......
     
  24. Gezmondo

    Gezmondo
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2004
    Messages:
    359
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Harrogate
    Ratings:
    +2
    Cheers mate!

    I've just been to our local AV " Specialist" He said it was ok to temp put them flat. i.e. afixing bracket to rear.

    Anyway all set for tomorrow now! :thumbsup:
     
  25. Ekko Star

    Ekko Star
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2002
    Messages:
    6,619
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +468
    Best of luck mate, just don't drive it around whilst flat !

    You're doing really well to get a 50" into a Golf. I would wrap it with a duvet or bubble wrap first though, since any knocks will probably scratch or dent it.

    Good Luck :thumbsup:
     
  26. Gezmondo

    Gezmondo
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2004
    Messages:
    359
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Harrogate
    Ratings:
    +2
    Thanx mate i've got some bubble wrap and quilts etc! :thumbsup:

    Will be relieved when i get it home!
     
  27. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,346
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,218
    so did it go okay? you can lay them down to screw brackets on BUT dont let glass touch the floor or anything hard...... and dont power it up for 24 hours after it has been layed flat.... I never lay them flat
     
  28. Lizzard

    Lizzard
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    How fragile is the glass? you know how thick it is?
     
  29. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,346
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,218
    oh yeah i know how thin it is but the gap between the glass sheets is small and if they touch....................................................................................................................................................................................BYE Bye plasma glass is a liquid and flows and bends also the cell structure is mechanically fragile
     
  30. Gezmondo

    Gezmondo
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2004
    Messages:
    359
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Harrogate
    Ratings:
    +2
    S__t myself when i read that!!!

    But there was no contact as it was shrouded in a quilt...
    Checked screen and its 100% phew!

    :thumbsup:
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice