1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Transferring old tapes to DVD - Which hardware is best?

Discussion in 'Desktop & Laptop Computers Forum' started by newbiebie, Mar 31, 2005.

  1. newbiebie

    newbiebie
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2005
    Messages:
    81
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi all,

    I'd like to transfer my old VHS tapes to DVD as it seems VCRs are going the way of the dodo.. and I need the space it takes anyway for an AV amp now.

    Can anyone recommend a good video capture card that takes in S-Video and Stereo sound?

    I have seen ADS instant DVD 2.0 recommended by PC Mag but many users report the device becomes burning hot and freeze often. Is that true? Are there any good alternatives (good quality capture and stability) from Hauppauge or Avermedia? Or non PC solution from Keene or Lextropacks that would be recommended from experience?

    Thanks.
     
  2. mhuk05

    mhuk05
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2005
    Messages:
    2,708
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    J6 M5
    Ratings:
    +215
  3. newbiebie

    newbiebie
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2005
    Messages:
    81
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks.

    Will these external cards work for my old home-made video as well as to have 1 DVD copy of each of my old commercial VHS tapes?
     
  4. mhuk05

    mhuk05
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2005
    Messages:
    2,708
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    J6 M5
    Ratings:
    +215
    You hook up your VHS player to the external box and connect the box to your PC (preferably a Pentium4 with a stack of RAM- I use a P4 2.8 and 2G RAM).

    The video itself should make no difference.
     
  5. newbiebie

    newbiebie
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2005
    Messages:
    81
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +0
    :confused: I have now found forums where it is discussed that the Canopus are MV protected although there is a jumper that disables it (!). Seems rather uncertain to me whether this will work or not. Could you be more specific with an external box model that is known to work?
     

Share This Page

Loading...