Transferring Music

Discussion in 'Headphones, Earphones & Portable Music' started by angelphace, Jan 3, 2007.

  1. angelphace

    angelphace
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2006
    Messages:
    99
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +0
    Is it possible to transfer music from iTunes to my new Creative Zen V Plus?

    Have been trying to do it this afternoon, but no success so far.:confused:
     
  2. lazymatt

    lazymatt
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2006
    Messages:
    1,999
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Croydon
    Ratings:
    +188
    Should be able to (not actually using itunes though). What format have you got your music stored in?
     
  3. angelphace

    angelphace
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2006
    Messages:
    99
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +0
    They seem to be MPEG-4 files.

    I copied most of my CDs to iTunes before Christmas as I thought I was getting an iPod. As it turns out I got a Zen.

    If I go into my music, there is a folder labelled iTunes which contains all of the CDs i copied to iTunes and also the music that I purchased from the iTunes store. Can't seem to transfer this to the Zen tho.
     
  4. lazymatt

    lazymatt
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2006
    Messages:
    1,999
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Croydon
    Ratings:
    +188
    Sounds like you've ripped them to AAC.

    Your Zen will not play these. You will need to convert them to MP3 first. There will be a slight loss in quality, but it's the only thing you can do.

    As for the tracks bought from iTunes - these will be protected AAC, so you will have to burn them to a CD first as audio tracks, and then re-rip them as MP3.
     
  5. angelphace

    angelphace
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2006
    Messages:
    99
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks Matt
     
  6. bouncer

    bouncer
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2005
    Messages:
    3,605
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Glasgow
    Ratings:
    +256
    If you cant add them to the sen when there in mp3 format only way I knew around this was to burn them to a CD then rip them back

    And Zens can be good! Depending on what one you have and what you wanted it for :p
     
  7. angelphace

    angelphace
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2006
    Messages:
    99
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +0
    Have now re-ripped my CDs, but used WMA Lossless. Have I made another mistake? These files seem to be too big to transfer to my Zen V Plus. Can I convert them to 192 kbps without re-ripping them yet again?
     
  8. lazymatt

    lazymatt
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2006
    Messages:
    1,999
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Croydon
    Ratings:
    +188
    Yep.

    I think Windows Media should be able to transfer them to whatever file you like. Otherwise something like DBPowerAmp will do.

    It's good to have things in Lossless, as you can now mess about with them, and down-convert them from Lossless to whatever format you like, without losing sound quality.

    I would suggest you use FLAC in future instead of WMA, though, as it is a little more compatable with other devices.
     
  9. angelphace

    angelphace
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2006
    Messages:
    99
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks for the reply Matt.

    I don't suppose you could explain how I can transfer them to 192kbps?

    Can you rip using FLAC with windows media player, or do you have to use another application?
     
  10. lazymatt

    lazymatt
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2006
    Messages:
    1,999
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Croydon
    Ratings:
    +188
    O.k,

    For conversion: Download DB PowerAmp:


    http://www.dbpoweramp.com/dmc.htm

    Install it and it's pretty simple to use. Just open it up, it'll ask you to choose the files you want to convert. You can select them, then there's a drop down box where you can choose the format, and bit rate. Just choose the appropriate ones and hit convert.

    For ripping in FLAC: Download EAC


    http://www.exactaudiocopy.de/

    You can use it to rip to other formats as well. Once you get used to it, it is probably one of the best ripping programmes out there.
     

Share This Page

Loading...