Transfering to my Pc

Discussion in 'Camcorders, Action Cams & Video Making Forum' started by Puddy7, Sep 5, 2007.

  1. Puddy7

    Puddy7
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2007
    Messages:
    5
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    This might be a really simple question but I'm not clued up on the subject so please bear with me. :eek:

    I have a Canon MVx30i camcorder and a Friend has given me a copy of Pinnacle 10.

    Now I just want to know how I go about transferring all my home videos onto my pc.

    Obviousally I know I need to connect to camcorder to the pc but not sure what kind of lead i need?

    Is it a firewire lead I need?

    Any help would be much appreciated.

    Thanks
    Em x:)
     
  2. Andy98765

    Andy98765
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2006
    Messages:
    10,474
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +1,367
    If firewire is available that is the best route to take. Just make sure you get the right lead, at the PC end it is normally the 6pin version.
     
  3. Puddy7

    Puddy7
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2007
    Messages:
    5
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    thanks, I'll get someone to double check that I have firewire available.

    If not what other route do I take?
     
  4. insomniak123

    insomniak123

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2007
    Messages:
    2,953
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Balamb Garden
    Ratings:
    +370
    sounds obvious but you'll need a firewire interface on your pc too :smashin:

    if not, a usb cable should do it (usb 2.0)
     
  5. Andy98765

    Andy98765
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2006
    Messages:
    10,474
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +1,367
    If your PC does not have Firewire it is very easy to fit.. Check you have a PCi slot free and just plug in a Firewire card, no software needed XP should see it straight away.
    http://www.ebuyer.com/UK/product/78455 this is a standard cable but DO check. http://www.ebuyer.com/UK/product/57694
    Just looked in the instruction manual and it seems you need 4 - 6pin cable.
    http://software.canon-europe.com/files/soft24435/manual/MVX10i_CUG_EN.pdf
    See page 87
    See page 98 for computer connection.

    P.S. I have found on my Sony camcorder that USB connection to all but useless for quality and control. Don't ask me why????
     
  6. redsox_mark

    redsox_mark
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2003
    Messages:
    6,512
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Bath, England
    Ratings:
    +620
    The MVx30i is a DV camcorder, so it has Firewire. It also has USB2.0, but in most cases this can only be used to copy stills, not video. You'll need to check your manual to be sure. In the unlikely event that it does, you also need your editing software to support USB capture.

    Canon Australia has this useful chart, which shows most of their camcorders DO NOT allow DV capture over USB, but a couple do. Unfortunatly it doesn't list the MVx30i at all (must not have that model there). I can find no similar useful chart from Canon UK.

    http://www.canon.com.au/support/cus...r/KBArticleForm&File=KB01173&productID=mvx35i
     
  7. redsox_mark

    redsox_mark
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2003
    Messages:
    6,512
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Bath, England
    Ratings:
    +620
    With most camcorders (including all Sony models I've seen) the USB is designed for copying still photos off the memory card only. There are some exceptions... some Panasonic models support DV capture over USB, and it looks like a couple of Canon models do (at least in Austrailia). But you also need software which can handle it.
     

Share This Page

Loading...