transfering DVD-RAM to DVD-R

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by Dabs, Jun 13, 2005.

  1. Dabs

    Dabs
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2004
    Messages:
    296
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +2
    Hello all,
    This is all new to me and i've been searching for a DVD Recorder which has a
    DV Input(i link) for my camcorder,RGB IN/OUT for my sky+.
    As im getting married soon :suicide: i need to record the day on to DVD.
    The Panasonic E65 seems the best bet {pick one up at £179} and am i right that if i need to edit,it can only be done with DVD-RAM?
    If so, could i play the DVD-RAM in my Panny s97 connected to the e65 then record on DVD-R so i can play this DVD on the familys DVD players.
    Hope i made sense here.???
     
  2. HMHB

    HMHB
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2001
    Messages:
    25,560
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Nottinghamshire
    Ratings:
    +3,892
    Yes you can do that. The other option is the E95 which has a built in hard disk so you could copy it to the hard disk first which makes editing easier.
     
  3. Dabs

    Dabs
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2004
    Messages:
    296
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +2
    Thanks for the reply,
    Only thing is,the e95 is a little bit out of my price range.
    I thought £179 was a good price for the e65.
    Cant spend too much,especially as i only got my Panny S97 only a couple of months ago,plus the impending wedding.
    Anyway thanks.
     
  4. Dabs

    Dabs
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2004
    Messages:
    296
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +2
    Hello again,
    Well i got my Panasonic e65,recorded Dr Who from the Sky+ harddrive to test onto a DVD-R disk,finalized it then played it.
    Playback worked fine on the e65 but playback on my Panasonic S97 had trouble.
    Tried other DVD players in the house {3 of them) and they all had a bit of trouble eg: jumping.
    So i then copied the disk using my PC and this disk turned out fine,it played on all.
    Does this mean there is something wrong with the writer or is it because i used a cheap DVD-R (BULKPAQ from Novatech £8 for 50).
    Im hoping and reckon its the latter.Any opinions..please...thanks.
     
  5. Dabs

    Dabs
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2004
    Messages:
    296
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +2
    :rtfm: ust read it and it states "use only 1x-4x DVD-Rs and i used 8x.
    What a complete wally :oops:
     
  6. Nelviticus

    Nelviticus
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2003
    Messages:
    468
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Hitchin
    Ratings:
    +68
    It could be anything to be honest but it sounds like a dodgy disc. Try another one and if you get the same problems try another brand. Did you copy the disc to another one of the same brand?
     
  7. Dabs

    Dabs
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2004
    Messages:
    296
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +2
    Hello,
    Looks like we was typing this at the same time.Yes it was the same brand but i'm gonna try a 4x disc next (when i buy one that is,just bought 100 8x annoyingly)
     
  8. Nelviticus

    Nelviticus
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2003
    Messages:
    468
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Hitchin
    Ratings:
    +68
    Many 8x discs will still work - I've been using one batch for ages now and haven't had any problems. I get them here:

    http://www.blankdiscshop.co.uk/acatalog/dvd-rnoprint.html

    Scroll down until you find "{DV 3138} Taiyo Yuden (8x) Unbranded DVD-R in Heavy Duty Spindle Tubs of 100" near the end of the page.

    I've found that my E95 is a bit pernickety about discs, some will work and some won't. It doesn't seem to be linked to brand or speed. I recommend these though.
     
  9. Dabs

    Dabs
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2004
    Messages:
    296
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +2
    Thanks for that Nelviticus, Im pretty sure it must be the discs now,i burnt a movie to one of these discs on the pc and this played up a little bit,not much but enough to realize.
    Suppose you get what you pay for,£16 for 100 was cheap but not if i end up using them as coasters.
     
  10. Nelviticus

    Nelviticus
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2003
    Messages:
    468
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Hitchin
    Ratings:
    +68
    Hang them all on your washing line and make a nice display for the neighbours!
     
  11. Dabs

    Dabs
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2004
    Messages:
    296
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +2
    Just ordered these http://www.aprmedia.com/product.php?pid=1699 ,hope these work ok as they are Panasonic AND 4x so if they dont it must be the machine.
    Had to buy them as today when recording from Sky the recorder froze writing the information to the disc at 94% and had to turn the power of from the mains :mad:
     

Share This Page

Loading...