TP Link ethernet and wireless

Discussion in 'Networking & NAS' started by vortekster, Jan 30, 2014.

  1. vortekster

    vortekster
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2006
    Messages:
    12
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi,

    I currently use TP Link ethernet adapters for my latop as the signal from my wi fi is not very good, if I have an ethernet connection at the router end and a couple ethernet connections around the house, can I also have a wireless one in another room?

    Thanks in advance.
     
  2. mickevh

    mickevh
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2007
    Messages:
    7,209
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    West London
    Ratings:
    +1,726
    I am not sure I understand what you are asking, but you can deploy as many wireless Access Points (AP) as you like.
     
  3. vortekster

    vortekster
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2006
    Messages:
    12
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    But can I mix wireless with ethernet adapters?
     
  4. mickevh

    mickevh
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2007
    Messages:
    7,209
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    West London
    Ratings:
    +1,726
    What do you mean by "adapters" - the interfaces in your devices or something else...? Perhaps you could post the make and model numbers of what you are using.
     
  5. vortekster

    vortekster
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2006
    Messages:
    12
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have TP-Link TL-PA511 ethernet adapters connected to my wireless router and one in my front room which I plug into my laptop, if I was to get the wireless equivalent and plug it into another room, would it transmit a wireless signal from the ethernet connection attached to the router?
     
  6. cjed

    cjed
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2007
    Messages:
    2,272
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Location:
    Highworth, Wiltshire
    Ratings:
    +587
    Yes, you could use the TP-Link TL-WPA4220 to replace the TL-PA511 unit in the front room. This then acts as a WIFi Acesss point (and Powerline adapter).
     

Share This Page

Loading...