Totally New to XDA and need some advice please

Discussion in 'Mobile Phones Forum' started by mb5049, Aug 10, 2006.

1. mb5049

mb5049

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi all,

I am totally new to the world of the O2 XDA Mini. I had mine delivered yesterday morning, and have been playing about with it a bit. As a result I am a bit bedazzled :eek: and already have a few questions;

1) Assuming I had a big enough memory card can I run ordinary PC software or do I need specific PPC/XDA stuff?

2) linked to above - is there a decent Anti-virus software for use on the XDA?

3) When I link up to Activesync on my PC and synchronise, it keeps telling me 'setup must be completed' in relation to windows media. I have installed WM11 on my PC... how do I complete installation so activesync is happy?

Hope someone can help.

Many thanks (and I'm sure i'll have more questions soon).

Matt :confused:

2. Jamiewalshe

Jamiewalshe

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +29
    software wise, anything that is windows mobile 5 compatable (and depending on what it is, wm3 compatable) there is loads of software available and a fair amount of it is freeware.

get over to the xda forums (forum.xda-developers.com) for lots of info.
    the correct forums for the o2 mini s is the 'wizard' (thats its htc name) on there, and they'll be able to answer any of your questions.

this is my today screen, its not current, but near enough. nothing special but does what i want. my fav today plug in by far is the todayspeed dial. (just need to touch one of the pictures and it dials whoever it is. very smart)

[​IMG]

and an example of wisbar's cascading start menu

[​IMG]

today screen programs currently on:

wisbar advance 2
    lvm time
    speed dial
    claunch
    prss reader
    today agenda

pda's are very addictive to customise, and once you know what you're doing you can set it to your exact requirements (which ive near enough done to mine)