1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Totally broken Sky+ - what options do I have?

Discussion in 'Sky Digital TV Forum' started by ssuellid, Oct 5, 2005.

  1. ssuellid

    ssuellid
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2004
    Messages:
    207
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +7
    My V1 Pace Sky+ box died last night.

    Every now and again everything lights up and then it goes back to just the standby light. Thats all it does. No menus or anything.

    I'm not sure whether to get a replacement myself, get a replacement through Sky or send it off for repair.

    I was planning on upgrading the box to a HD one as soon as Sky launched the service so don't want to be spending to much money getting Sky+ back for just a few months or so.

    Any ideas? And costs?

    Ta.
     
  2. Nick_UK

    Nick_UK
    Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2004
    Messages:
    9,748
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +270
    Several options:

    • Get a brand new one from Simply Digital for £159
    • Get one off Ebay (with the attendant risks)
    • Phone Sky and tell them you want to cancel because your box is broken, and they may offer a deal
     
  3. chic

    chic
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2001
    Messages:
    5,975
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    glasgow
    Ratings:
    +871
    you can call sky up and ask for an engineer call out, this will cost you £65, they will swop over the box for you(will be a refurb), you can try to bluff them and threaten to cancel and they might waive the £65 charge or may reduce it
     
  4. ssuellid

    ssuellid
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2004
    Messages:
    207
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +7
    Thanks.

    I did not mention that the box had been upgraded. I'll stick the original HD back in and then phone Sky if its still knackered.

    £65 is not bad I suppose - its lasted longer than the video recorder it replaced.

    Thanks again.

    BTW Chic your link to your home cinema does not seem to be working.
     
  5. ssuellid

    ssuellid
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2004
    Messages:
    207
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +7
    The HD had somehow got corrupted. Working fine now.
     
  6. KBD1

    KBD1
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2004
    Messages:
    420
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +13
    Got a phone call from Sky, asking if i was having any problems with Sky +.
    I told them that No Signal was coming up numerous times, but no major problems.
    Just switch it off for a few minutes.
    Sky phoned me to ask if i would like to pay some insurance charge for any call outs that my be required, as my years warranty was about to expire.
    Told caller is wasn,t interested, as i would be upgrading to HDTV when it was available, around April 06 ? Caller informed HDTV wont be available for at least another two years.
    What is Sky telling there telephone sales people, about HDTV ? Nothing i presume.
     
  7. MacReady

    MacReady
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2003
    Messages:
    2,224
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Barnsley, South Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +108
    Sounds to me like Sky are trying to cash in on the recent bug filled upgrade with all the subcribers who's boxes have run out of warranty :mad:
     
  8. jenic

    jenic
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2004
    Messages:
    2,871
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Ratings:
    +179
    Or was it sky?

    We get loads of mail from loads of companies offering us a warranty for our sky stuff.
     
  9. MacReady

    MacReady
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2003
    Messages:
    2,224
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Barnsley, South Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +108
    That is a good point! Do Sky call up subscribers to offer them warranty?
     
  10. KBD1

    KBD1
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2004
    Messages:
    420
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +13
    Never thought about that. Presume it was Sky. Never took up offer anyway.
     
  11. Mep

    Mep
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2004
    Messages:
    9,532
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +468
    it wont be sky most likely. A company called satcover phones and tries to give the impression it's sky without actually saying it is.
     
  12. Zog

    Zog
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2001
    Messages:
    426
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Manchester
    Ratings:
    +5
    you miss this from the end of your post?......

    " 'nt "
     
  13. GreenBhoy

    GreenBhoy
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2003
    Messages:
    435
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Swindon
    Ratings:
    +10
    I had exactly the same issues - my Sky+ became knackered just outside of warranty (and around the time of the latest firmware upgrade). Threatened to cancel and the Sky guy offered to waive the £65 - jumped at the chance. Working fine now... :clap:
     

Share This Page

Loading...