• New Patreon Tier and Early Access Content available. If you would like to support AVForums, we now have a new Patreon Tier which gives you access to selected news, reviews and articles before they are available to the public. Read more.

Total solution ideas for absolute beginner??

Paddy!

Hi guys, firstly thanks for looking and thank you in advance for any advice or guidance you have the time to spare!

We were looking to move but the wife has decided she can't move away from our street so we're currently getting plans drawn up for a double storey extension [currently 3 bed semi, 60s brick built so you know the type!].

As part of the rebuild I'm looking to go as eco and low maintenance cost friendly as possible [Solar PVs, UF heating etc.] and part of this is to incorporate as much home automation as possible... but I've spent a few weeks researching on here and other places and I am floundering! I've very little idea what I need so would appreciate any input.

I'd like to install and control:

• Heating [UF on ground floor in 4 zones plus 2 x UF in Bathrooms on First floor plus radiators on first floor in 4 bedrooms. We will be relocating and installing a new boiler so suggestions for that would be great!]
  • Lighting [multizone LEDs including garden]
  • Home Alarm System [we've not got one installed as yet so am open to suggestions regarding entry camera/CCTV etc. and sensors inside which I understand can control macros for lighting/heating etc.?]
  • Audio [Ceiling speakers in 4 zones for stored music/radio, maybe SONOS but I don't really understand it!]