1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Total ruin $$$

Discussion in 'Desktop & Laptop Computers Forum' started by etotore, Sep 25, 2002.

  1. etotore

    etotore
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi All

    I'm now on the edge.
    To waste a loot of money $$$ for me.
    Planing to order a SDI card to my Pioneer DV-646.

    The H3G card as input for the SDI signals and my S-Video.

    Graphic card to my HTPC thinking about Gforce TI4600, ATI 9700 or Matrox Parhelia-512. Have any one compared these.
    With some filter mod on the output stage.

    I'm also thinking to order the new SB card with 6.1 support?

    Planning to run this ruin on a high resolution 2XXX*1XXX with 75Hz frame rate. Feeding a Barco 1208s.

    I'm only 1 week from making the orders so please tell me not to do it. :D

    Thanks in advance for any replies.
    <because there is always a better idea out there.....>

    BR
    Tormod
    as soon to be HT alcoholic
    :D
     
  2. Jeff

    Jeff
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    5,489
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Basingstoke
    Ratings:
    +256
    Hi Tormod,

    Of the video cards, only the 9700 is any good for HTPC use. The matrox doesn't do custom resolutions and the Geforce only has 8bit DACs & overlay and most importantly no overlay gamma adjustment. Even the 9700 is slightly risky being a totally new card.

    If you are using an external player then sound cards are not needed. The less you install the better the HTPC is likely to work.

    You should NOT feed your 1208 2xxx*1xxx, it can't handle it. 1024x768 or 1280x720 would be far more appropriate. 75 Hz is fine for film based PAL material.

    Jeff
     
  3. etotore

    etotore
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi jeff

    Is the info that I find here wrong.
    http://www.snaggs.com/projector/barco/bg_1208s_brochure.zip
    It's stating that upto 2500*2000. pixels.

    Where did you find the other info, what is the correct one?

    The info on 9700 I will follow up, but it is not easy to find i stock these days.

    I'm running external audio today, but I was wondering an upgrade from 5.1 to 6.1 audio thats why internal was promising.
    Cheaper than a new external audio prossesor.

    But I think I will do a step by step upgrade there.

    Kind Regards

    Tormod
    Trying hard to learn, but my head h....
     
  4. Jeff

    Jeff
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    5,489
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Basingstoke
    Ratings:
    +256
    The projectors electrics may well be able to do 2500x2000, but the tubes definately can't resolve that high a resolution, the picture will be all soft and unappealing. For R1 DVDs I run my 1209s 9" Barco at 720x960, looks great.
     
  5. Couch Potato

    Couch Potato
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Are you sure ;)

    Steve
     
  6. etotore

    etotore
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi Jeff

    So it's only to wait and see.
    What will make the best picture.
    Thats it :rolleyes:
    Are you running on higher than 75Hz???

    BR
    Tormod
    Pixel to perfection is hard, do you have any to give away ...
     
  7. Jeff

    Jeff
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    5,489
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Basingstoke
    Ratings:
    +256
    Well its experimental at the moment, I like. The mighty Kryton has been limited to doing line quadruling :D

    For refresh rates I use 72Hz for NTSC R1 DVDs, 50Hz for PAL video (SKY) and will probably use 75Hz for the few R2 DVDs that I have.
     
  8. etotore

    etotore
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi

    Have some of you experience in how much the filter mod is improving the overall image.

    I'm trying the best I can to find the best result from day 1.

    BR
    Tormod
     
  9. buns

    buns
    Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2001
    Messages:
    6,066
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    58
    Location:
    Belfast
    Ratings:
    +1
    I believe the 9700 is a good choice with the H3D, i think it maintains a 10 bit data stream as opposed to the older radeons which were 8.

    Ad
     
  10. etotore

    etotore
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    "I believe the 9700 is a good choice with the H3D, i think it maintains a 10 bit data stream as opposed to the older radeons which were 8. "

    I agree with you. Regarding 9700 I think now that this is the best card for this usage.
    The only thing ATI is really bad on drivers.

    But I have heard that the filter that is located on the output of most graphic cards is of bad quality.
    Saving money issue from the card manufacture point of view.
    Who will notice anyway on a 19" inch monitor playing games?
    Sorry that is my impression. :(
    But have anyone tried on the 9700 series card and how bad is it.?????

    BR
    Tormod
    Seeking the truth
     
  11. Jeff

    Jeff
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    5,489
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Basingstoke
    Ratings:
    +256
    Actually the filters on ATI (and Matrox) cards are quite good. The 8500 has excellent filters. I would not pay an extra $350 to have a card modded.
     
  12. buns

    buns
    Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2001
    Messages:
    6,066
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    58
    Location:
    Belfast
    Ratings:
    +1
    The other thing to be said for ATI cards is that the H3D that you are interested in, is in main working with ATI cards. I'll try and get you the addy for someone using this combo and they can give you a proper answer.

    Ad
     
  13. buns

    buns
    Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2001
    Messages:
    6,066
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    58
    Location:
    Belfast
    Ratings:
    +1
    etotore:

    pm at you! I have 3 people all telling me the combination works well for them using XP and catalyst 2.3 drivers.

    hope that helps!

    Ad
     

Share This Page

Loading...