total novice, please help!

Discussion in 'LCD & LED LCD TVs Forum' started by fatley, Oct 21, 2005.

Tags:
  1. fatley

fatley

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    hello,

please can someone advise me and help me get a good buy or throw money away!

i have seen a Samsung LW-29 A 13 W for £750 brand new (still in shop). i know absolutely nothing about televisions but am told its an LCD. The picture quality looks good to me, any thoughts please? :)

2. Doctor Hades

Doctor Hades

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +324
    You're not Italian by any chance are you because I can't seem to find that TV on any UK sites but I did find it on various Italian websites and it doesn't sound too brilliant from the specs, which are:

Resolution: 1280x768 (so it's one of the awkward 15:9 panels)
    Brightness: 500cd/m2
    Contrast: 600:1 (a bit low these days)
    Response Time: 25ms (that is terrible for an LCD TV)

If I were you I'd go for a Samsung LE-32R41BD which has the following specs:

Resolution: 1366x768
    Brightness: 500cd/m2
    Contrast: 800:1 (3000:1 using Dynamic Contrast)
    Response Time: 12ms (so there's less blurring)

It has plenty of connections alonsgside the usual SCARTS (2, 1 RGB), S-Video and composite ones, including VGA, component video and HDMI.

It costs around £100 more online but it's worth it.

3. fatley

fatley

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    thanks for that, no chance of going for that then! its a small town shop but he has a good reputation!

I have just been reading some reviews on the sharp LC32P50E its about the same price but apparently its set up for UK pictures, what does that mean? Would it be better to go for the samsung? Cheers

4. Doctor Hades

Doctor Hades

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +324