1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Total noob

Discussion in 'Projectors, Screens & Video Processors' started by explicitlyrics, Jan 20, 2004.

1. explicitlyrics

explicitlyrics

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +9
    Sorry about posting such a stupid question but im really interested in starting a home cinema in my basement. I have a budget of about £1000 for the projector maybe a hundred or so more. And would like to know what my best bet is for sound (no more than 200). I have a pc that i would like to connect to the projector along with my xbox and possibly a vcr for television. Thus I would probably need at least vga and svideo/component video on the pj. As for sound, the pc outputs 5.1 in analogue and the xbox in digital, is there a speaker system that can handle both? or is there an add-in card I should get for my pc. I borrowed a panny 1024x768 LCD (PTLC76E) projector over the last weekend and when hooked up with the xbox i could notice the pixels very easily (all be it without the Hi-qual video output pack) and was wandering if this is normal when close to the screen of 60 inches. As for LCD/DLP I am not sure, any suggestions of where I can go and look at a few models in the north london area would be much appreciated.
    Screen-size-wise I would probably go for at least 90inches and I would be sitting 6-8meters away although the pj can be mounted any distance between this (ceiling or a table I dont mind). 4:3 is ideal ratio as it would at least be able to come with all formats of media but if there is a superb pj that works in 16:9 then id be willing to consider it.
    Any thoughts on any of these questions/problems would be very much welcomed, thanks very much, Chris

2. Alan_Be

Alan_Be

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +6
    OK, the Specs on the LC76 you had a loan of
    FEATURE
    PTLC76E

Resolution